Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Very friendly staff, good safe hotel in central location, highly recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Barbara, Hotel Management
Thank you so much dear guest! Have a wonderful day. Best,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice hotel at the Rhine river

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Attractive location at the Rhine river, nice staff
Cons: The only hotel lobby facility is a smoking lounge. Although I smoke myself I would prefer a completely non smoking environment.
Location: Ideal location for walks along the Rhine river, views on the cathedral and the old town. In the heart of one of the restaurant and bar areas of Basel.
Traditional hotel in Basel which could need some renovation, but very charming. Helpful and nice staff. A good address for both tourisme and business, as the trade fair buildings are very close.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Madeline, Hotel Management
Dear "Kurt" Thank you very much for your Review. We hope to see you again. Madeline
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent cozy hotel next to river rhine

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
It was amazing honely experience. I was in biz conference. Walking distance to confernce centre. Staff was very courteus, cudtomer service was excellent. Ever shower cosmetics were branded :). Excellent healthy breakfast and great view of river rhine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but odd hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was a bit odd. I was staying in an annex across the road and you had to walk through a courtyard to get to the lift with people smoking in the courtyard from the bar downstairs. It was also quite noisy due to the bar. The dinner was very nice and service good. Breakfast was okay but service a little slower - I was brought tea but no cup to pour it into and couldn't get attention for a long while so had to go pinch one from another table. There was also no room service which wasn't very convenient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and fresh

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Well worth two nights stay at the centre of this beautiful CITY.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view of water from the room

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
The only negative was the promenade was loud till 2 am so hard to keep open the windows. Everything else was wonderful. Hotel is starting to look worn like carpets, etc, but it did not impact our love of our room and would return here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Stylish and understated

Posted Aug 10, 2016
The hotel is very well run, the rooms are beautifully designed. Locationwise - highly recommended. Be prepared to be exposed to noise coming from neighboring restaurants and bars that are frequented by the locals.
3 out of 5
by Tracey

Nice hotel but noisy position

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel its self is very beautiful, in a great location by the river. an easy walk to the centre of Basel, Tinguely museum etc. The check in process was easy though polite the receptionist did not point out any of the facilities or amenities that the hotel offered. Our room was in a separate annexe building in the lane behind the hotel, the room was lovely but unfortunately it is above a bar and in the street directly below the room were about 5-6 bars. As it was summertime the bars were packed outside and the noise was unbelievable and continued way into the night. I think the room would be ok in winter time when no-one is sat out on the street but forget it in the summer if you want to get any sleep at all.
5 out of 5
by ANTHONY

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels