Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quality and Privacy

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel has automated self check in. Room was well appointed, I enjoyed the privacy that self check in offered, breakfast was very nice. If you want a big hotel with staff waiting on you hand and foot, this is not your hotel. If you want a very comfortable room with all you need there already - free cokes in minibar, nice touches like chocolate on the pillow, an actual alarm clock if your mobile is out of battery, capsule coffee machine with coffee that actually tasted nice, soft pillow, warm and comfy blanket, etc, you will like it. I like my privacy. this place was right for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Frint desk attendant/manager.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Christian, the day shift manager, exhibited outstanding customer service. This was unusual for Europe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Convenient for German train station. But freight trains run all night
5 out of 5
by Jonathon from Reading

Good quality hotel

Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
Last minute trip for work. Location was perfect for me, self check in process is very useful and allowed for a late arrival. Breakfast was a little sparse, however I did expect this given the size of the hotel. Quality of the room was very good and the WIFI is of good speed. Would stay again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Happy enough

Posted Feb 13, 2016 on Hotels
Good business location
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from York, UK

Convenient for rail connections.

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Convenient location, ease of check-in
Arrived, checked in via a terminal outside the hotel, no reception staff, nice and easy. Large, very clean and quiet room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Dublin, Ireland

Expensive but good

Posted Sep 20, 2006
Hotel Royal was great; very minimalist and clean and stylish, though so minamilist the corridors bordered on being hostel-like. The room was lovely with its own large balcony that looked over a residential leafy suberb; particularly surprising when you think that this hotel is across from one of the big train stations. Very convenient to the Messe. The only problem was that it was expensive and I was surprised that the breakfast was not included - I assumed at this price that breakfast was included: my own fault, I suppose. The coffee at breakfast was freshly made from the machine. I would stay here again if I couldn't find better value elsewhere in Basel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Thüringen

Gute Lage (Bahnhofsnähe) und sehr guter Service.

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Lage für Geschäftsreisende super (direkt neben dem Bad. Bahnhof und in kurzer Laufdistanz zum Kongresszentrum).
Cons: Leider war ie Straßenbahn nachts etwas zu hören. Das Frühstück könnte etwas abwechslungsreicher sein.
Location: Unmittelbar neben dem Badischen Bahnhof in Basel. Zum City Center kann man laufen (ca. 20min) oder mit der Straßenbahn (6min) fahren.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Schöne, moderne Zimmer - Hotel von Aussen grausam

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
Die Bilder entsprechen nicht ganz dem Hotel, da es nur eine Ecke vom Gebäude ist und edler aussieht als es ist. Die Rezeption ist sehr klein.