Ratings based on 273 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel with fantastic customer service.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Excellent helpful staff. Very central location.
Very welcoming man on reception. My wife had a bad cold and he went out of the way to hep her. He made her a hot ginger tea and found her some cough sweets. He went out of his way to hep us which got our holiday off to a great start.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Michaela Maria Nazarek – your host, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, dear Madam We thank you for your nice feedback. The well-being of our guests is very important for us. We always try to be attentive at each person and we do our best to be helpful in every situation. We also send our good wishes for recovery at your wife and we hope to welcome you again with us. Best regards Michaela Maria Nazarek – your host
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice property in great location near Old Town

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Complimentary wine/beer & snacks afternoons & evenings
Location: Hotel is close to RR station and short walk to all sights in Old Town
Very convenient location, reasonable prices, friendly and welcoming staff, spotlessly clean premises, nice complimentary beer/wine & snacks afternoons & evenings.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff and great atmosphere

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Really good short stay. Loved the hotel which has a beautiful garden and a very kind staff. Loved the complimentary wine, beer, cakes and nibbles.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlsbad, Ca.

Good location, value.

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Good location and a very good staff. Friendly and helpful, they had good recommendations for restaurants and assisted with dire tions.
Cons: Nothing to improve.
Location: The hotel is walking distance to old town. Good restaurants with 600m and lots of shopping opportunities.
We chose this hotel based upon the reviews. It was within walking distance of the maiin train station though you could take a bus, but we walked. A d it was less than 500m from Old Town and lots of shops and restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top notch, newly renovated hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
Couldn't have been nicer and is very quite in the back of the building. Breakfast is very comprehensive but very expensive at CHF 25
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HACKETTSTOWN, United States of America

Great Staff and Good Location

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Very helpful staff. Good location. Breakfast buffet and afternoon/evening drinks & snacks. Complimentary tram & bus passes.
Cons: While a short walk, getting there from the Basel SBB train station is not obvious. Additional information on their website would have been helpful
Location: As noted earlier, easy access to the main part of Basel and the SBB train station.
We stayed at the Steinenschanze twice over a 10 day period and had additional family staying there in a second room for 3 of those days, so there was lots of coming and going. The Front Desk staff could not have been better or nicer. They were great at all times and were especially helpful when we had questions or needed recommendations. The hotel is well located about a 10 minute walk from the Basel SBB train station and a walk up steps from Barfusserplatz, which gave easy access to the main part of the city. The rooms are European size (that is, small), but are well appointed. The breakfast buffet is very good. They also provide wine, beer, soft drinks and snacks in their lounge from 3:00 PM onwards, which was a nice surprise. They also provide tram & bus passes for your stay, which is a real money saver and makes it easy to get around Basel by just hopping on an off trams and busses. We were very pleased with our choice of the Steinenschanze.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved This Hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Staying at Steinenschanze Stadthotel was an amazing experience. The hotel is in a very accessible location. There is a bus stop across the street which we could use to get to the train station or anywhere else in the city. They even provided us with a card to get free rides on the city buses during our stay. The staff were very friendly, helpful and professional and the service was amazing. The room was small, but very clean and comfortable. The hotel had a nice patio for you to sit outside. In the afternoon, the hotel provided free snack and drinks (coffee, beer, etc.). Overall, it was an excellent stay.
Cons: I did not really find any issues with the hotel. Maybe the rooms could be bigger with more amenities. But with the price, I found everything satisfactory.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best in every way!

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: Excellent location to the old town, about ten minutes walking. Since all Basel hotels provide guests with free bus pass, going around was very easy.
We stayed there for two nights. Very nice and helpfull staff, love their genuine smile. The place was recently revovated, so everything looked new and very clean. Beds were comfortable. The hotel provided free snacks, drinks and wines at afternoons and evenings, we found really enjoyable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
We were disappointed that most of the museums we were interested in were closed on Monday which was our only full day. There are lots of stairs and little hills so the tram was helpful. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful.