Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Posted Jul 15, 2017
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The room had damage to one of the walls and in the bathroom the heated towel rail was broken.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to restaurants and clubs

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Very enjoyable stay walking distance to nightlife
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Hotel was ok for one night and breakfast was really good however they charge £10 for parking unless you join a club which is ridiculous
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from western australia

Convienient location

Posted May 22, 2017
Good breakfast , overpriced bar food and drinks at bar , hotel room small cramped and dated for the price , staff helpful and friendly
4 out of 5
by Darren

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Work base all good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Staff very accommodating and friendly. Good breakfast options . Good location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Quite disappointed

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: It is located fairly close to Basildon Univerity Hospital which was the main factor in choosing this property.
Cons: Renovate the rooms and bring them up to a standard more in keeping with IHG global.
Location: We ate a few meals in the nearby restaurants. They too were rather disappointing.
As an IHG Rewards member, we have stayed at IHG properties in many countries. The Basildon property is well below the standard we have come to expect from IHG. The only redeeming part of our stay was the generally pleasant and accomodating staff. We booked a room with a king size bed, but what we were given was more akin to a double or possibly a queen. Definately not a king size by any standard we are accustomed to. Couple the small size with an extremely soft and springy character and good restful sleep was in short supply. The room size itself was quite cramped with no proper wardrobe to hang our clothes nor drawers for our foldables. We had to make use of the nightstands and desk for this. The bathroom was also quite cramped. All this in an IHG Rewards Club room. I surely would have not wanted to stay in their regular room. Lastly, we had to shorten our stay by two nights. It has been a nightmare to get a refund for the last two nghts. The hotel and Expedia went round and round about who was responsible. Ulitmately Expedia agreed verbally (on the phone) to the refund, but refusd to put this in writing via email. I am still waiting for my refund as f this writing. We will not use Expedia ever again.
4 out of 5
by Terry

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
Paying £10 for parking on top of the hotel room price was abit ott
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Next to / overlooking a lake and willows

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: For what it is - a stopover type hotel, it is perfect.
Location: See above!
We were pleasantly surprised! A hotel in the middle of an industrial area, just off a very busy dual carriageway dies not sound appealing, but it is in a little oasis surrounded by eateries . . . .and a cinema! And you can't hear the road. The staff were great, room comfortable and spotless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Nice hotal close to a lot of foodshops

Posted Feb 25, 2017
It was a very good hotel clean tidy staff were friendly room was excellent comfy bed i would recommend to family and friends