Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Some rooms small and sparse

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: The pool area was lovely
Cons: An elevator
Location: Very pretty ,quiet town
Overall, lovely hotel Great pool and lovely staff Room was small and sparse, Tons of stairs, not good if mobilility issues
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Italy at its best !

Posted May 15, 2016
We cannot thank Loredana and her team enough they were all amazingly genuine and had a real desire to ensure your stay was the very best they could offer. The hotel is beautifully clean and in a fantastic position to discover Italy independently. Any negatives ? Not really, the hotel is quite difficult to find but we believe this added to its charm. So far this area is unspoilt, let's hope it stays that way! Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sammamish, WA

Interesting hotel

Posted May 9, 2016
Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for a nice place to stay that comes with history. The town is very picturesque in a mountain setting. The hotel is a fun challenge to find but well worth the experience. Just keep driving forward despite the road getting narrower as you climb. The restaurant was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic and unique experience.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Maratea...... What a wonderful experience. La Locanda itselfl is a beautiful hotel set in an idyllic, relaxing and tranquil environment. The staff at the hotel and in general the people of Maratea are incredibly welcoming and I couldn't think of a better place to totally unwind and immerse oneself in Italian culture.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and unique setting

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Location: Beaches all around below the city and easy to get too by car.
Wonderful hotel with great, attentive staff. Greated upon arrival with valet parking in a lot just steps below the hotel. Beautiful large room and amenities with pool without any complaints. Got there without too much trouble with the GPS. Would definitely stay here again. Breakfast was also nice with great items and pâté even from Germany, along with Canadian maple syrup if you so chose...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by caro from uk

A beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2012
Pros: The pool terrace was a lovely place to relax
Cons: The lunch and dinner menus did not vary or have daily specials so did not encourage us to eat in the hotel much.
Location: On a steep hill above the town (5mins walk) lots of steps. It about 5km from the coast, too far to walk, so you need to drive or take a bus.
This is a lovely hotel in an old convent with a calm and tranquil atmosphere. There are beautiful mountain views. The private beach is very well kept and we enjoyed our days there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oxford

wonderful!!

Posted Oct 16, 2011
We arrived on a cold October afternoon - the room was upgraded for us to one with a hot bath!! I mentioned I was starving and a round of delicious sandwiches appeared which we weren't charged for!!!! Nothing was to much trouble. The weather changed overnight and we sunbathed by a glorious little swimming pool with views over the old town. After two nights we returned to London completely rested and revived and thoughtly spoilt. We are planning to return next Summer with our children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Beautiful Location

Posted Aug 10, 2011
This is a wonderful hotel in a beautiful setting. We were the only Americans that stayed at the hotel or we ran into for the entire 5 days of our stay. It is off the beaten path, but definitely worth the diversion. The staff were very kind & helpful. Breakfasts were good & plentiful. If you prefer a beach to the beautiful pool they will take you by shuttle to a cove called La Secca. It is not to be missed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Fantastic

Posted Jul 15, 2011
Great hotel in a great location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Midlands, United Kingdom

Go for an upgraded room!

Posted Jun 6, 2011
We booked a 'classico' room. The bedroom area was tiny, just enough room for standard double bed and a wardrobe. Ironically, the adjoining en-suite area was almost as large with plenty of space. There was nowhere to store a suitcase other than on top of wardrobe. Overall, it was a nice hotel. Restaurant was good but food was more European style than specific Italian... and a bit pricey. Hotel provides passes to a private beach about 8k away - worth a trip.