Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel in charming Maratea!!

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Loved this hotel in charming Maratea!! Lovely hotel with great service! Front desk staff was very helpful! Suggesting restaurants and helping us get to places to see in the area. Loved the service from our waiter Danico at Restorante IL Sacello!! Wonderful dinner sea bass was delightful and the pork was great too!! The breakfast was yummy and the best cappuccino of our trip!! We enjoyed relaxing by the pool and loved the church bells chiming nearby! We highly recommend this hotel!! Don't miss the local sights wonderful marina and also the Statua del Cristo overlooking the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Some rooms small and sparse

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: The pool area was lovely
Cons: An elevator
Location: Very pretty ,quiet town
Overall, lovely hotel Great pool and lovely staff Room was small and sparse, Tons of stairs, not good if mobilility issues
1 out of 5
by Annick from Dubai

A definite mold problem...

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
We reserved a "Classic double room, City view" and the lobby was quite charming and we were told that we were upgraded to a better room that the one we booked. All very positive. We were shown our room (#4) off the lobby, and realized very fast that it had this unbearable stench of mold. The A/C which we turned on even added to the stench, whereas we had thought it would subside with some dry air. Mold was coming out of the A/C too, besides being in the fabric of the armchair, in the bed and its comforter, in the closet. It was suffocating, unbearable. After dinner in the village, we came back to our room and, despite airing it for a couple of hours, the smell of mold was still strong in there. When WiFi stopped working and I had to go to Reception, I used a few choice words in my rusty Italian to describe the stench in the room and expressed my anger at the unsanitary conditions we had to put up with. We were moved to a better room the following night. It still smelled of mold -- but less so. When we mentioned mold, the manager/owner seemed offended, even outraged but never owned up to the problem in the hotel. There were no apologies; I am quite allergic to mold and it is a health hazard. We were made to feel that we were just vying for an upgrade, whereas we refused to spend a couple of nights in an unsanitary room. Since it is difficult to put a stench of mold in pictures, I am posting pics of the bathtub which illustrate the issue in there.
5 out of 5
by Mark from Surrey

Shame we only stayed for one night...

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
This is a beautiful hotel, we arrived to a much needed welcome iced tea after 3 hours drive from Naples. The staff took our cases to our rooms and parked our car due to its location. There were road works which meant we had to go around the town but once inside, there's a set of stairs by the hotel pool to the town. A really lovely relaxing stay. Great pool and we loved the way the hotel rooms sit on different floors. Shame we only stayed for one night.
5 out of 5
by Aaron

Excellent hotel but potentially difficult to reach

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
We loved this hotel and especially the attached restaurant which was amazing. It was difficult to reach due to bad weather and a road closure, so it would be wise to contact the hotel ahead of time to get accurate directions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Italy at its best !

Posted May 15, 2016
We cannot thank Loredana and her team enough they were all amazingly genuine and had a real desire to ensure your stay was the very best they could offer. The hotel is beautifully clean and in a fantastic position to discover Italy independently. Any negatives ? Not really, the hotel is quite difficult to find but we believe this added to its charm. So far this area is unspoilt, let's hope it stays that way! Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sammamish, WA

Interesting hotel

Posted May 9, 2016
Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for a nice place to stay that comes with history. The town is very picturesque in a mountain setting. The hotel is a fun challenge to find but well worth the experience. Just keep driving forward despite the road getting narrower as you climb. The restaurant was excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely boutique hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
Charming hotel in a great position. Air conditioning needs upgrading as ineffective in some rooms. Restaurant service detracts from the excellent menu.
4 out of 5
by Alan from Newark on Trent

A great choice of hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels
Booked at the last moment we were greeted by the delightful owners and were well looked after throughout our 3 night stay be it in the hotel generally or in the restaurant where we wined and dined well on each of our 3 nights . This was an excellent choice of hotel and we will remember the courteous attention extended to us and other discerning clientele. Only problem was being late season the swimming pool water was somewhat invigorating!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic and unique experience.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Maratea...... What a wonderful experience. La Locanda itselfl is a beautiful hotel set in an idyllic, relaxing and tranquil environment. The staff at the hotel and in general the people of Maratea are incredibly welcoming and I couldn't think of a better place to totally unwind and immerse oneself in Italian culture.