Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A unique place to stay.

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel provides an almost unique experience of sleeping in great luxury in a cave. Staff are attentive, the ambience is pleasant and the views over the sassi of Matera are unsurpassed. Give it a visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2016
First class accommodation and experience staying in the Sassi. Excellent accommodation and service, with no detail overlooked! Most comfortable bed and our private deck overlooking the Sassi from room 15. The thermal spa was also a treat at the end of a day of exploring. Consider staying at Laconds; you will not be disappointed. Small tip- call the hotel when you arrive at the Piazza and have them pick you up with your luggage and bring to hotel so you don't have to carry your luggage down stairs into the Sassi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

So glad we picked this hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Better directions on how to get to the hotel, given all the ZTL zones. We had to call for help and got someone to drive us and park the car.
We slept in a cave room, which looked out over the classic cave city views, but that was only one reason we so enjoyed our stay. The staff was lovely, the breakfast delicious, and Matera itself definitely interesting. We explored on foot during the day (you could access the upper town via a short staircase once you took the hotel elevator up a few levels) and every night, for 3 nights in a row, we visited the spa with the gorgeous underground swimming pool (there is also a sauna and steam room and plenty of lounge chairs to relax.) It was a beautiful space and I am so happy we had a chance to enjoy it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY, USA

la gema

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Absolutely amazing experience.... Thermal was a bonus, rooms we unique, staff excellent, location can't be beat....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel in a mountain

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Amazing experience...can't wait to return we loved it. Bring your bathing suit the pool is not to be missed. Rooms are set into the mountain but remain spacious. Large continental breakfast, helpful staff, centrally located
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A magnificient place to stay.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Location,
Loved our quaduple room, felt like we were in the caves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

Would have been helpful to get info

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Would have been helpful to get info on how to get to hotel. Could not find a taxi and had to walk lots of steps with luggage. Hot water did not work in shower first night but was fixed for following night. Great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Middle of the sassi

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Everything! Really well thought out, clean, great location- parking arrangements were great too!
Location: Its Matera- you can do a million things and its all very centrally located to the hotel...
I'd stay here again in a nanosecond- it was clean, "suggestivo" as an environment, very centrally located (via stairs up via San Martino (which my cousin pointed out to us...shes a local in Matera so knew the back way in). I mean, if you're going to stay in Matera you might as well sleep IN a sasso...it was absolutely wonderful. The breakfast seemed good too althought to be honest, we just walked up into the main piazza so didn't quite indulge!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Perfect way to experience Matera

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Orbitz
This hotel was the perfect way to experience the old city of Matera. It is close to some restaurants and cafes and a short walk up to the main square and Matera. But the real allure is just being there in the old city. I am really glad I stayed there and not somewhere else in Matera just to save a few dollars. The pool is all so incredible, much bigger than it looks in pictures. The hotel staff was also friendly and helpful and the breakfast in the morning is excellent.
5 out of 5
by Frank from Westcliff on sea

Hotel with a difference

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
A very different hotel set in caves but rooms modernised. The spa was great. Staff friendly and helpful. In a great spot with quite a few restaurants nearby. For those who can't manage steps and hills then it would be difficult. All in all very nice.