Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maple

Great hotel walking distance to Sassi.

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Breathtaking, excellent concert in the piazza at night.
5 out of 5
by Tricia from London

Great hotel and location

Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel, helpful staff, close to FAL station and only 10-15 min walk to the Sassi. Will be booking here for our next trip
5 out of 5
by CJS from NYC

Not in walking distance of the old city

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was great......see above. The only 2 major issues I had was that it lacked a sign at the point where one had to turn into a very short street/parking lot to tell you the hotel was back there. It's not really accessible from a main street. Also, it was not in walking distance of the old city, nor many of the historical sites. However, for me with a large car, it was perfect because I never would have been able to navigate the small streets of the old Matera. Liked that it had parking on the premises. Had a great breakfast with warm items.
4 out of 5
by giorgio from verona

very good for a 3 days visit to matera

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels
we enjoied a lot to spend our short vacation at palace hotel
5 out of 5
by John Catalanotto from Akron, OH USA

No Regrets!

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels
The location is perfect as well as the hotel and Staff. It is very close to the caves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from Somerset, UK

Good hotel within walking distance of the old town

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Pros: Ability to leave the car and walk to the old town. There was little noise, considering how close it was to the old town.
Cons: Ability to control the temperature - even in October the room got quite hot.
A perfectly reasonable hotel within walking distance of the old town and with free parking. When we stayed in October the air conditioning seemed to be disabled but we didn't investigate as we were only there for one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maureen from Victoria, BC, Canada

Great hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2013
Pros: Staff
Location: Super
Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Location excellent. Breakfast just ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michelle from Toronto, ON, Canada

Good choice for family stay

Posted Jun 7, 2013
Pros: Big rooms and nice restaurant on site.
Cons: Location - nothing aroun the hotel
Location: Easy to find the hotel, but not near anything by walking.
It's easy to find the hotel and the room we had was big enough for two kids to play. Though the room is a little bit ran down, the nice and friendly staffs are helpful. The on site restaurant is good and they even cooked little pastina for my young toddler.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Second Stay as Good as First

Posted Jul 14, 2010
On our second stay at the Palace Hotel Matera we found the same efficient, friendly service and excellent accomodations as during our first. The hotel is modern, utterly clean, well-functiioning, and comfortable. (Note that you will not be able to set the air conditioning lower than 24.5 degree Centigrade, but that is comfortable enough if you keep the fan blowing.) The complimentary breakfast in the morning has abundant choice and excellent local products. The hotel is also easy to find, as it is prominent on the landscape and of very easy access to and from all roads. All in all, an excellent choice and a great deal for the price. (The only minor inconvenience was that this time we were there during the great big annual feast of early July when crowds pour into the city and the hotel posted notes saying it could not guarantee our finding a parking space at night, even in its own parking areas, which were overrun by out-of-towners. The hotel did accommodate our car in the end but we thought they should have been more reassuring on this front.).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Albergo ok

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Gentilezza e cortesia del personale: ok. Camera pulita e ordinata.