Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Staff the history, walkable and the amazing hotel itself.
Cons: More hot water.
Location: The location was perfect walked to everything.
This is a beautifully redone palace. The rooms are large by European standards. The staff is very helpful. Domaino was so helpful and pleasant and always smiling. He gave a good history lesson on the palace including history of Matra. He was helpful with dinner suggestions and reservation. Order taxis, he made our stay very pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely Palazzo with home from home atmosphere

Posted Sep 18, 2016
This hotel more than matched our expectations . The bedroom was large, comfortable and with. wonderful views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2016
Excellent overall. Great service from the hotel staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jackson, WY

Nice hotel location perfect.

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: They have it all together there.
Location: Great dining experience at Ristorante San Biagio (everything fresh, I mean everything). All within walking distance.
Beautiful old hotel and quiet in the middle of Matera. We've been traveling in Southern Italy for a couple of weeks and this was as comfortable location as we have found. The staff "superb" ... would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

wonderful hotel!

Posted Sep 4, 2015
Such a nice hotel, quiet & calm space in a busy little town. Staff were wonderful & went the extra mile. The hotel is hard to find with a GPS (& streets are narrow) so our advice would be to park in a public car park, walk to the hotel (behind the cathedral) & get a map from reception. It's easy once you do this! Parking in the hotel is €20 per night but much cheaper than public parking so well worth it. They have a roof terrace which could be better utilized as a bar/restaurant. Would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southampton, uk

A real palace

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Location. Building.
Location: Next to the cathedral on top of the hill. Walking distance to all the sights.
Such is the layout of the hotel, it can seem like you are the only one staying there. Right on top of the hill next to the cathedral, the hotel is well placed for a walk into town, and if you have the legs, a walk down the steps to the Sassi. The rooms were excellent, and the walk to breakfast was like being in a stately home. Breakfast excellent too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel I have ever stayed in

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Location: You are right in the center of Sassi I and Sassi II. 5 minutes walk to the main Piazza with restaurants and shops
This is the second time I have had the pleasure of staying at this lovely place. I absolutely can say that hands down it is the best place I have ever stayed. Not only the accommodating staff but also the pure beauty of this magnificent hotel. We stayed in a suite and it was spacious, extremely clean, and overall just fantastic. We did encounter one issue, the wifi in our room wouldn't work because the signal wasn't strong enough. Within 5 minutes of letting the front desk know about this issue, a man with a router for our room was knocking on our door. NOW THAT'S SERVICE! Perfect location, perfect customer service, just plain PERFECTION.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel viceconte

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Amazing location, wonderful views of city and excellent service
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

schöne Anlage in zentraler Altstadtlage

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Pros: schöner Palazzo
Cons: Unbedingt die Qualität des Frühstücks steigern!
sehr mäßiges, qualalitativ nicht dem Niveau und dem (Preis)-Anspruch des Hotels entsprechendes Frühstück. Parkplatz innerhalb der Anlage mit 20 € pro Tag zu teuer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from VERONA

UN HOTEL PALAZZO DA SOGNO

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: PRATICAMENTE TUTTO E IN PIU' LA MAGIA PER UN SOGGIORNO IN COPPIA
Cons: NON SAPREI
Location: POSIZIONE CRITICA, COMPATIBILMENTE CON IL TIPO DI CITTA', MA DI SUGGESTIONE
UN MINIAPPARTAMENTO PER CAMERA ED UN PALAZZO A DISPOSIZIONE DEI CLIENTI. RISTRUTTURAZIONE DELLO STABILE INTELLIGENTE E DI GUSTO. ARREDO ECCELLENTE. STAFF GENTILE, SIMPATICO E COMPETENTE/EFFICACE. TERRAZZO PANORAMICO, ACCESSIBILE ANCHE DI SERA. WIFI OTTIMO. TV MODERNO, A MURO. BUFFET VARIO E RICCO, NON AFFOLLATO.