Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel but parking has issues

Posted Aug 21, 2016
We had a wonderful stay, but we had to wait a long time for our car to be brought back to us by the vallet (45 minutes). The lobby was full of people waiting for their cars and the restaurant was closed. So nowhere to sit and wait comfortably. Vallet/parking guy was rude. Otherwise absolutely wonderful stay in a magical hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Caves in Metera - Unique Experience

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in Metera whilst travelling around Italy. We took a car to the hotel which did prove difficult because there is no parking, but once we had seen the reception staff they took over organising moving the cars (for a fee - obviously). Reception staff were very friendly and we were shown to our rooms. I would avoid this hotel and probably many in Metera if you are a bit dottery on your legs, as there are many uneven stairs and we did see one man fall and hurt himself. But if you are not this is probably one of the most unique places in the world. The hotel rooms were all in caves. We had four rooms and all were different but beautiful. I could not fault them. The porter carried our bags up flights of steps in the heat of the day, smiling all the way. If I had one complaint it would be general in all the hotels I stayed in. It would be a lack of bar facilities. Saying that they opened there bar on the second night and this over looked Metera and the views were stunning. Breakfast was vast and served in cave, it was lovely. I would love to return on day.
4 out of 5
by Chang-Fu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Richard from Miami

Stunning room in Matera.

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Great location on gorge. Bit of a climb to breakfast. No free parking; about 18 euro per day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Wonderful position in Matera

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: Position
Cons: Shower
Location: Just walk and take it all in. There are caves to visit dotted all over so buy a guide book. Cross the gorge and climb to the other side for view.
This hotel is in a perfect position to see the beauty of Matera. We had a room with a balcony (55i) overlooking the church in the rock and the gorge. The service of the staff was good. Very helpful and pleasant. The only minor niggles were the shower which needed upgrading or at least given a really good clean. Also fresh fruit salad at breakfast would be nice. The restaurant was not open in the evening which was disappointing. Matera is spectacular, like a living film set and they were preparing to film Wonder Woman while we were there! Would highly recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
Wifi did not work in the room. Staff not responsive to my complaint. room was too dark
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideally located but hard to find

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Pros: Good location, but access instructions were difficult to follow, and parking was excessive.
The room was good, but the air conditioning was not working well. The staff we not as friendly as we have found elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Excellent location in Sassi area

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: Location and cave theme.
Cons: Access to parking. Valet parking service offered, but car retreival took longer then
Location: Close to all major attractions, restaurants and main pedestrian areas.
Enjoyed our stay in one of their cave rooms, was a thrill to somewhat experience what life was like for residents of the sassi. Great location overlooking canyon and St Pietro Square.
4 out of 5
by peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels