Ratings based on 352 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Best place to stay in Basingstoke.

Posted Nov 20, 2017
From the moment we arrived we were wellcomed and the check in took only a few minutes, the rooms were very clean and the pool and sauna was great , breakfast was excellent and although this stay was for one night only on a Saturday we all had a great time and will stay again on our next trip to Basingstoke.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from odiham

Posted Nov 19, 2017
My only complaint about this hotel is the cleanliness of the sauna and steam room. There was a strong urine smell. All other facilities were good and good bar food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

simple and clean

Posted Nov 13, 2017
nice hotel, clean didnt use the facilities as only stayed one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

Quiet hotel with easy access

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Convenient to town, with swimming pool and gym, the Apollo hotel is adequate. The water was hot, the bath big enough, the power shower was excellent, the bed comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

No hot water from Friday to Sunday morning.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Arrived Friday afternoon to a room that had no hot water. Spoke to reception who apologised and said they will fix it, not ideal as had to have a cold shower. Went out for the day on Saturday, came back to shower and change, to find still no hot water. Went and spoke to the duty manager whilst my wife had to go to a friends room to get ready. The manager offered me a drink as compensation.!! I asked for some kind of discount and was told that they couldn’t do anything and that I should take it up with Expedia as I booked through them. Yet the hotel took my money when I arrived. Additionally the corridors had damp walls and carpets with humidifiers hidden in corners to try and clear it. Finally on Sunday prior to check out, there was hot water. Although my group had a lovely weekend for our 5th reunion in Basingstoke I think we will stick to the budget hotels in future as you get treated better. We paid 4star prices but didn’t get 4 star service, I had to wait till check out for anything to happen. We wasn’t even offered a different room, just £40 refund when we left.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wiltshire

Great stay

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Hotel is very nice with a good relaxed feel, a little dated here and there, but doesn’t spoil the o really experience.. very clean, tidy and comfortable, we always have a very good stay here... hotel has a lovely spa, comfortable bar area, lovely helpful and friendly staff, the breakfast was wonderful and dining area very pleasant.. overall a great stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wales

Ten minute walk to town and very close to the hosp

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Checked in to a double room which was filthy. Still had sequins on the floor, empty bottles shoved down the side of the wardrobe and various body hair and nail cuttings on the floor. On peeling back the duvet, we found 'bits' and small blood stains. Complaining to Simon the duty manager ( who was very pleasant ) resulted in a room upgrade. However even this suite wasn't too clean
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

OK Hotel and that's it

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Cons: Later hotel bar, maybe to 1am would be good - extend the breakfast time to 10am as well.
Hotel OK, but if you are going out to celebrate in any way and expect to come back to a Hotel bar that's open then this is not the place for you, the bar closed before midnight which was a shame as we had around 20 of us who had been to a leaving party. The breakfast also finishes at 9.30am (pretty early in terms of hotel breakfasts). The room was OK and that's about it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from basingstoke

Exellent birthday present

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Reception staff friendly and pleasant local perfect
Staff are amazing and so friendly Thanks for a perfect stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hot room and old mattress

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Nice enough for the price but the was very hot and the mattress was well worn! Partner and I kept rolling into the middle. Breakfast was very nice - good selection.