Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds Leeds Leeds

This hotel has a lot of character

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Certainly more character than any I have stayed at. It is in a very peaceful location surrounded by a load of woodland and gardens. Food was very good too, and the staff are very attentive and friendly. Imagine it would be amazing in summertime with its outdoor pool and tennis courts. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable although I could not connect to the WiFi in mine or get any phone signal, which makes it an unsuitable place to stay for work. Did mention the WiFi issue a number of times and despite their best efforts to get working (which did briefly on one occasion) was disappointed they didn't think to offer moving me to another room within range of wifi.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastbourne

Did not quite live up to expectations

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: The grounds and style were stunning
Cons: The dinning experience, menu choice, cleaning and staff training in silver service
Location: Stunning location
It became apparent quite early that there were a lot of new staff, orders were often misunderstood or just wrong, on one occasion we were told they had run out of white sugar! Another guest had an expensive Brandy served in a small wine glass as they had no Brandy glasses, this despite an impressive display of expensive Brandy. The main restaurant had cobwebs on the INSIDE of many of the windows. The food on Friday evening was poor, almost cold and dry, it was slightly better on Saturday. Another large group of guests were so disappointed in the quality of the food on Friday night it resulted in a very loud and distasteful argument with the Night Manager. Overall it was disappointing and well below the standard we expect of a 4* hotel. We have many happy and satisfying stays at The Grand hotel. also an Elite group hotel. We would not be keen to return, a very expensive weekend for a very average experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Great for Special Occassions

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Setting, Grounds, staff, food quality and service
Staff and the Hall were fantastic. Evening meal and breakfast were top notch - brilliant. Had a marvellous stay.
5 out of 5
by Nicholas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Lovely " country estate" atmosphere

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Stayed for four nights while visiting family in area. Quiet country location with beautifully kept grounds. Indoor pool was a plus, enjoyed a swim in October. There are NO elevators which can be a problem with heavy bags up numerous flights of stairs. Can be difficult to find your way around as you have to negotiate several corridors that all look similar to find your way back to your room, especially on top floor. Some staff members were polite and helpful while others seemed rather impatient with simple requests. Sunday brunch was over priced and understaffed, although food was good when it finally got served, was not a pleasant experience and I would not go again. Can recommend Tylney Hall for the charming atmosphere if you can physically do the stairs and don't have special needs that require extra staff attention.
5 out of 5
by Ken

Great hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel, full of charm
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

A wedding day to remember

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: It was all really impressive.
It was a super experience on my niece’s wedding day. Everything went well, the food was excellent and everything was well organised. Our hotel room too was very nice. Will certainly try and visit Tylney Hall In The future.
5 out of 5
by Jason

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Aaron

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tylney Hall

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: The setting, gardens and comfort.
Cons: The breakfast is not up to the standards of the remainder of the hotel. Slow and very disorganized. The buffet is rarely replenished.
Tylney Hall is an old English country Manor Home that has been restored to it's original elegance and comfort. The atmosphere is excellent and the staff is superb. It is an ideal place for special event or just a relaxing weekend with a little pampering. The dining room is excellent and with a good variety of menu choices and of course the service to match the elegance of the hotel.