Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great get away between Bayonne and Barritzz

Posted Oct 6, 2016
It is a old family home in a lake very close to Bayonne and Biarritz. For an urban area it is very quiet with a forest surrounding the lake. It has a great breakfast for 18 euros in a wonderful dining area. Rooms are very large and the bathtub is marvelous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bit tired but elegant and pleasant

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Room quite stuffy but with windows open a pleasant breeZe blows through. Nice property, pleasant if not English speaking staff. Nicely located
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stellenbosch, South Africa

Luxury stay

Posted Jun 12, 2015
This is a luxurious hotel with beautiful grounds. The rooms are hot and stuffy (only negative), but we slept with the balcony door open to let in the breeze. Highly recommended, except for the summer months!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Charming hotel on a private lake.

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: The site, the food, the rooms.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Close to the beaches of Anglet and Biarritz and adjacent to the foothills of the Pyrenees in the Basque region.
Lovely spacious rooms overlooking a private lake teeming with wildlife. The restaurant at the hotel is excellent and the site, overlooking the lake, is a highlight. Breakfast was similarly good with simple choices but all fresh ingredients and typically excellent bread and croissants. The site, a kilometer from the airport, might make you worry about noise but being just to the side of the runway alignment means you are completely unaware of aircraft operations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Great location off the main path

Posted Aug 28, 2014
If you want to visit Biarritz and not be in main fray, this is the place to be. Large rooms with expansive bathroom including a large soaking tub and separate shower. Great balcony space for your morning coffee. Need a car or taxi ($20 euro each way) to get to downtown Biarritz. Very relaxing and great hotel staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and grounds

Posted Jun 12, 2013
A nice hotel and a pleasing location. Unfortunately for us it only had a fine dinning menu which had very little that a vegetarian could eat. Having a more contemporary dinning option would have been nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Could be 5 star but.....

Posted Oct 30, 2011
We booked a deluxe room for 3 nights in mid-October. The room is quite possibly the most beautiful room we have ever had the pleasure of stayin in during our global travels. Lovely colors and decorations and big. The bathroom was huge with a terrific shower. The problem was the A/C never worked and so we suffered 3 fairly uncofortable nights. At first the front desk told us the A/C would build up and to be patient and the next day they had the good sense (they could sense my growing anger) to acknowledge it was broken. But then they did nothing to fix it!! The dining room was average and the wines expensive. If only the AC had worked and the staff had been more helpful, this place would be just wonderful. The location means you must have a car as there is nothing around or near to the hotel of any interest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Surrey, U K

It was a wonderful experience

Posted Feb 19, 2011
We loved everything about this hotel and it's surroundings. The staff and service were excellent, the room superb. Only critisim is that as a vegetarian we were unable to eat in the restaurant. The menu's are set and they would not offer any alternative. I would have no hesitation in recommending this beautiful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful Hotel + Very Good Location

Posted Aug 12, 2009
Beautiful hotel in a very nice environment. Good point is that it is also not in the center of town but remains very close to the centre of Biarritz and Anglet (about 10 minutes drive). A car is a must if you stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from NY

beatiful space, especially the venice suite

Posted Jul 30, 2008
We discovered that the air-con was not working properly and the bathtub would not drain. After bringing this up to the management, we were told there were no more rooms for this night, and were given a giant portable unit that needed to have a vent that is placed outside a door! The next day, however, a staff member found us at the pool and told us we would be moved in to a suite - this without our asking about it. they also delivered a bottle of champaigne to the room. Very attentive, and delicious food at the restaurant.