Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Excellent location right in town but away from main road. Easy walk to beach. Smallish room but comfortable, good shower. Only downside was that it was very hot during our stay & we were lucky to borrow a fan from reception or it would have been hard to sleep. But I doubt there are enough fans for all. Staff very pleasant & helpful. Fab breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Comfortable ambiance, nicely elegant

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: We had a bright, spacious room with sufficient furniture and a good sized bathroom/shower. Excellent breakfast.
We really enjoyed this slightly old fashioned hotel. Just off the main pedestrianised main street, it is well located for getting around the town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located near the walking section of town

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: location
Location: Beaches, fishing, water sports, small picturesque French towns
5 night stay, friendly and helpful staff, sufficient breakfast for 12E
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PD from East Yorkshire, UK

Great location with public car park adjoining

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Pros: The location. The lift, as I am getting on in years.
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: The hotel is situated just off the busy seafront area, just right. Only 3 minutes from good restaurants.
We stayed at the hotel quite a few times many years ago and it was very old fashioned then. The exterior is still the same, but the rooms have recently been refurbished to a very high standard. The staff were friendly and helpful. For the price charged it was excellent value. When I visit St Jean de Luz again I shall most certainly stay at the Hotel de la Post.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Value

Posted Jul 22, 2012
Good location and hotel is almost finished renovations. Good value for money and away from the main drag but close enough to walk everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very pleasant stopover

Posted May 31, 2011
On our way to Madrid from a week in SW France, we spent 3 days in St Jean de Luz. My last visit there was approximately 40 years ago, when it was a sleepy fishing village. It is considerably more than that now, but the outstanding seafood restaurants are there (more of them), and the ambient is still there (hence the tsunami of tourists there now), and the Atlantic Ocean views and smell of the sea are still very appealing. Certainly, early May looks like a good time to visit. The small Grand Hotel de la Poste is well located at the north end of the town's main drag. The main drag is sufficiently busy that I consider it an advantage not to be quite on the very busy street. There is a garage that is convenient although not exactly close (several blocks worth of a pleasant walk). Room #5 was a very pleasant corner room with nice open windows and a fresh breeze; decor slightly Spartan but freshly painted and very clean. The bathroom was private and clean if slightly small ("old Europe"). Location made it a short walk to everywhere in town -- very convenient! The staff was attentive, pleasant, helpful. The lobby had great ambient, including an old true billiards (3 ball) table; I enjoyed an hour's worth at it -- not having played the game since college fraternity. Did not sample their breakfast (too many other places in town to enjoy). Look forward to visiting them again. The price was very right.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Simple

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Hôtel simple a la déco sympa. Pas de baignoire dommage
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel bien placé mais confort chambre à revoir

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Lobby et escalier
Cons: chambres
Très beau lobby et bon accueil. Malheureusement les chambres ne sont pas climatisées et la propreté à revoir.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tarbes

hotel trés accueillant

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: le petit dejeuner et copieux le personnel sourient, l'hotel ravissant.
Cons: le point a ameliorés est l'isolation pas coter route mais coter doublage chambre afin de ne plus entendre les voisins
Location: le quartier est tres bien tout est a proximités de l'hotel pas besoin de la voiture c'est tres charment
hotel et personnel tres sympa juste dommage qu'il n'y est pas de parking privé dur pour trouver une place dispo et dommage aussi que l'isolation soit quasi inexcistante on entend les voisins , a part cela rien a dire nous y retourneront tres bientot
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sylvain

Hôtel très bien situé et agréable

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Notre chambre supérieure était de grande dimension avec douche, baignoire et WC séparé.
Cons: La déco est rustique et l'isolation par étage est inexistante.
Location: Hôtel à 5' de la plage principale et en plein centre ville.
Etant obligé de partir une nuit plutôt pour cause de décès dans ma famille proche, l'hôtel n'a compté aucun frais, alors qu'il est fort probable que la chambre n'a pu être reloué un dimanche hors saison.