Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good convenient hotel.

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed overnight enroute to Spain.Ideal location for us as just off the motorway.We really like to pick properties with parking facilities and this hotel ticked all the boxes.Friendly staff, both reception and dining. Room clean and very comfortable and of a reasonable size.Despite the negative reviews regarding the food at this hotel we found our dining experience to be very good,with well prepared and presented food at a very reasonable price for France.We ate from the a la carte menu,starter and main plus drinks for around 70 euros,one could eat at a lower price when choosing the plate of the day menu.All in all for us a perfect stay.
4 out of 5
by Thomas from Berkshire

Perfect for a quick stop

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed here with friends for one night at the start of a trip across the Pyrenees. The hotel was very comfortable, the restaurant was nice and the staff were very helpful. The pool was also a very nice touch!
4 out of 5
by Diane from Somerset

Will stay again

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
Whilst travelling we stayed overnight at this hotel. Very quick and professional check-in room was satisfactory and the beds were very comfortable. The bar & restaurant were very good and sitting in the lovely garden was a pleasure. A very good and pleasant overnight stop and we would certainly use this hotel again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by John from Ireland

Great Location

Posted Apr 5, 2015 on Hotels
Have stayed in this hotel many times. very easy to find as just off exit for St Jean de Luz North. Very comfortable and excellent staff. Rooms are small but very comfortable. Restaurant is very good but limited menu. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by Michelle from Devon

Great overnight stop between France and Spain

Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels
I booked this hotel as an overnight stop between France and the Santander ferry. It was ideal - just a couple of minutes off the motorway, and 20-30 minutes to walk into St Jean, depending on whether you follow the busy road or take the scenic route along the coastal walkway. Excellent restaurant, and very nice grounds. Wifi worked well. Some people call the rooms 'basic', and they aren't over elaborate, but I certainly had everything I needed. I'd definitely stay here again if wanting an overnight stop on this coast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2015 by DONIBANE, Hotel Management
Thank you for your opinion. The situation of the hotel Donibane, indeed allows you to come there very quickly by the highway exit, but also allows to walk you in the surroundings, we are in 5 minutes of the way of the Coast which is very pleasant after a day of car. Our rooms were completely renovated in 2012. I remain at your disposal for your next stay Hélène responsable réception
5 out of 5
by John from Ireland

Highly Recommended

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels
We have stayed in this hotel on a number of occasions. Everytime we go back they have made improvements to the hotel. It is in a good location, very easy to find, staff are excellent, restaurant is very good. The rooms are a little small but the rest of the package more than compensates.We will go back to this hotel again and again.
4 out of 5
by Brian from Norfolk

Great Location

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels
Just off main road, ideal as an overnight stop. Room O.K. small but functional.
5 out of 5
by adam from scotland

great location

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels
Had a great stay here, arrived late at night to a very friendly welcome. While the room was basic it was very clean and for once the heated towel rail in the bathroom worked, something that cannot be said for far more expensive hotels. A top location too, close to the motorway but far enough away not to be effected by traffic noise, definitely be staying here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adequate for one night; not vacation spot.

Posted Sep 8, 2013
My GPS couldn't find this hotel so I drove around for quite a while until I remembered that a reviewer mentioned that it was across the street from a McDonalds and a bakery. It is no where near the centre but is quite close to the highway. No elevator but the price was very reasonable for St Jean-de-Luz. Don't get excited about an Egg McMuffin for breakfast -- the McDonalds doesn't open till 10 a.m.! The room I had was quite small and even though I just stayed there last week, there is nothing memorable about the bedroom decor or shower.