Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ont

Private, close to beach, surf rentals, downtown.

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: Great location! Marbella beach is less then 5 min; Surf shops w classes and gear rentals less then 5 min; Grocery store 10 min walk; Downtown 15min
Room was clean and spacious for two people. Came with plates, linen, towels and other kitchen gear. Quick walk to Marbella beach (less then five min) and to a great surf shop to rent gear or take surf lessons without going bankrupt. Downside: We had to buy toilet paper, dish soap and sponges. Wifi had to be purchased seperatly from room fee which comes with added credit card fees if you don't live in Europe.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Self-Catering in Biarritz

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Lovely views and grounds, friendly staff and quiet, clean location not far from town.
Cons: Lack of attention to detail and general comfort - beds and sofa uncomfortable and difficult to relax after a busy day.
Location: Lovely seafront town with a vast range of upmarket, individual shops. Good range of restaurants. Lots of surfing schools. Aquarium good.
Hotel Eugenie was not a hotel, it was self-catering apartments, which is what we wanted. The small kitchen was well enough stocked with a dish- washer, microwave and hob, but no oven. The rooms were spacious with lovely views from all windows and balcony. The location was good - not central but within easy reach of the town and facilities - bus stop outside hotel but would recommend a car if wishing to go farther afield. Excellent secure car park on site. Too cold in October for trying the outdoor pool as it is not heated, but this, the tennis court and crazy putting would be lovely in summer season. Overall a practical, no frills place. On a negative, very uncomfortable mattresses on beds and a very small, uncomfortable sofa in the main living area, thus difficult to relax after a busy day. Attention to detail was lacking - no kitchen cloths, bin liners, dishwasher tablets etc - and who wants to be bothered sorting that out on holiday. Only French channels on the TV. It did the job but I wouldn't go back due to lack of attention to detail and general comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from lreland

Close to beaches and walking distance to town

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: As above.a be staff were helpful
Location: As already mentioned.beaches and close to town
Free shuttle bus to town close to beaches.overlooking beach area.
3 out of 5
by Roger from Galway

Recommended

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Room comfortable, plenty of room, good views, reasonable location within walking distance of town but also bus stop right outside. The only bad points no oven, television small and repairs to external visible - needed painting
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
Everything ws good except for the fact that there was no wifi connection in the room.
3 out of 5
by Ian from Bergerac

nice appartment with great views

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Nice appartment at top of a steep hill. the height gives great views across the bay although it's location right below the approach path for the airport made it noisy. A few shops and a bank were within a few minutes walk as were several beaches and surf schools. Staff were all very helpful and pleasant. The appartment had everything you needed but no luxuries
4 out of 5
by Bruce from winnipeg canada

awesome area in biarritz

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
Great location. Close to beaches and surfing and everything else to do there. Parking was a bit far from room with the kids. No dish soap or dishwasher detergent so make sure u bring some if u want to cook. Kids loved the bunk beds and it kept them in their own room so we could stay up later.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

4 star rating very misleading, bring extra cash

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: There was a nice view of the sea in the rear area of the hotel.
Cons: Active staff who spoke at least a bit of english, toiletries, basic free cleaning products, more towels and more features to justify 4 star rating.
Location: The hotel is near marbella beach but is quite a distance (30 minute walk) from the main beach and city centre, away from restaurants and attractions.
I stayed in a studio which I found to be quite basic. The hotel charged me extra for everything! The main phone in the reception wasn't working so i had to have the phone in my room activated which cost me 5 euros for the pleasure. Activating WiFi cost an additional 15 euros for my stay, and they even charged 7 euros for a cleaning kit, which included basics like washing up liquid. There were no features in my room to indicate that this was a 4 star hotel. Bathroom had no toiletries or sanitary products just 3 towels. Staff in reception went home after 5pm, so in the evening there was nobody to notify if you were experiencing a problem. As staff closed the doors to the hotel after leaving, I had to climb through the back of the Hotel on several occasions after forgetting the code for the front door. None of the staff spoke english which was quite surprising, I am bilingual so I could manage but my friends found it incredible difficult. I think the hotel is geared towards french visitors, than foreigners. As the Hotel was in an isolated part of Biarritz, I had to walk 25 mins to town every day for lunch or dinner as there were no restaurants around the hotel. On departure I was asked to clean my room, empty out bins and take out the bed linen, or be charged up to 40 euros. After all the additional charges, constant walks for basics and lack of service, i would have been better off joining my friends in the 2 star hotel in town, which had soap and daily cleaners.
3 out of 5
by PBH from Dartmoor

Bad night's sleep but great location

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels
Quality & finish of appartment not that expected of 4 star accommodation. Floor surfaces badly worn. 4 person appartment booked for 2. Kitchen arrangement meant only one able to use it at a time. Whole flat was cramped and badly organised, inappropriate for anyone with any level of disability particularly if not agile, or two couples sharing, or parents with young children: as bathroom and separate toilet are at entry level, stairs climb to kitchen/living room with sofa bed, further mezanine 'bedroom' for 2 in single beds up second set of narrow steep stairs. No privacy between each sleeping space, nor between our balcony and those of the block opposite so close it felt claustophobic. We regretted not booking one of appartments in the southern block that look down to the car park and across to Spain. Awkward cramped kitchen arrangement and the most uncomfortable ill fitting mattress we encountered in 6 weeks touring. Its also a long haul uphill from car park at bottom of grounds to hotel building at top even without luggage so we collected what we needed each day from the car the night before. There appeared to be only three parking places for disabled clients at the building itself. Beautiful looking building externally, within easy walk Biarritz centre, Carrefour Market and other shops. Saving grace : the views across the bay to the Pyranees when swimming in the pool.
2 out of 5
by nely from Perth

Misadvertised.

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels
The town was nice but the hotel was badly advertised as a hotel and seems to be more like a extended stay hotel with no minibar or hotel service. We were required to make a count of the utensils dishes pots and towels of which there were only 2 provided for 3 of us staying there. We were also required to clean the room and put out any garbage and use the vaccum available at the reception. Also there was noone there to greet our arrival as they close reception between noon and 3pm. For us that was a 2 hoir wait. Not impressed. The view of the ocean was nice tho.