Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
Good newish Hotel. Very clean and the Staff excellent. Our bedroom was disappointing in that whilst all the comforts were in place internally we were allocated possibly the worst location to claim to have a sea view In the hotel. The balcony did not receive one second of Sun due to its position , so was never useable. Not really like the description we were given. Having said that , apart from the Restaurent prices( with no alternative eating place) the food and service provided was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from springfield, Mo

Awesome Bedding

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Most amazing bed we have ever slept in. A full 9 1/2 feet wide. Now I want one.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Everything is within walking distance.
Most beautiful area in all of France and hotel is located to view these awesome sights. The Spa experiences and food, however, are rediculously priced. Only the very rich can experience it all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Responsable Expérience Clients, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your comment. I am glad to read that you have really appreciated our location and the spa. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one ! Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissapointing

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Paid €360 exc breakfast for standard room but decided to upgrade for another €140 Room overlooked the sea and pool and was a good location but small and very tired looking . Bathroom old fashioned and small with basic shower over bath . Restaurant average , but pool bar poor and ridiculously expensive . €24 for a club sandwich without fries and €12 for a small beer ! Stayed in Sofitels before and rate this as worst .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Responsable Expérience Cl, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar Thalassa Sea & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires

Not at all 5 stars.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
This is not a Sofitel 5 stars. I had severe problems with the air conditioning, and the hotel is not well maintained, specially in the corridors and common areas. I had a terrible noise wakening me up on the second night, and they discounted a 20% in the room rate because of that. That was ok, but overall, really disappointed with this stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Disappointment

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Not a 5 star hotel. Room looked out on to a wall with only marginal sea view and no natural light. Balcony of no use as always dull. Fitness centre either had no air conditioning or was closed:pool area tightly packed sun beds with decking too hot to walk on: very limited facility in room to charge phones etc Overall wish we had chosen another hotel given what we were paying.
3 out of 5
by bernard from west palm beach

need some renovation

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
this hotel needs some renovation, especially at the pools (outdoors and indoors). Hammam was old and the overall condition of the thalassotherapy area was old as well
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from uk

Great position overlooking the beach

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: Quality of food and staff were great
Cons: Off ear more choice on the menu
Location: Great spot for sight seeing in easy walking distance of grande plague and a minute from beach,San Sebastian not far away great scenery
Food was very well cooked and presented.The spa bath is not suitable for people with any mobility difficulties due to its depth the outdoor pool is great. Staff and service fantastic menu limited if staying more than a few days.would stay again but for max 4 days.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Garry Schaffel from Canada

BEST BED IN THE WHOLE WIDE WORLD

Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is beautiful, in a gorgeous convenient location. I have never slept in a bigger and more luxurious bed!! It was bigger than a king, the pillows were glorious, and the linen perfect. The room itself was luxurious as well. Great service. Highly recommended.