Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from springfield, Mo

Awesome Bedding

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Most amazing bed we have ever slept in. A full 9 1/2 feet wide. Now I want one.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Everything is within walking distance.
Most beautiful area in all of France and hotel is located to view these awesome sights. The Spa experiences and food, however, are rediculously priced. Only the very rich can experience it all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Responsable Expérience Clients, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your comment. I am glad to read that you have really appreciated our location and the spa. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one ! Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissapointing

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Paid €360 exc breakfast for standard room but decided to upgrade for another €140 Room overlooked the sea and pool and was a good location but small and very tired looking . Bathroom old fashioned and small with basic shower over bath . Restaurant average , but pool bar poor and ridiculously expensive . €24 for a club sandwich without fries and €12 for a small beer ! Stayed in Sofitels before and rate this as worst .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Responsable Expérience Cl, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar Thalassa Sea & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires

Not at all 5 stars.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
This is not a Sofitel 5 stars. I had severe problems with the air conditioning, and the hotel is not well maintained, specially in the corridors and common areas. I had a terrible noise wakening me up on the second night, and they discounted a 20% in the room rate because of that. That was ok, but overall, really disappointed with this stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Disappointment

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Not a 5 star hotel. Room looked out on to a wall with only marginal sea view and no natural light. Balcony of no use as always dull. Fitness centre either had no air conditioning or was closed:pool area tightly packed sun beds with decking too hot to walk on: very limited facility in room to charge phones etc Overall wish we had chosen another hotel given what we were paying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from uk

Great position overlooking the beach

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: Quality of food and staff were great
Cons: Off ear more choice on the menu
Location: Great spot for sight seeing in easy walking distance of grande plague and a minute from beach,San Sebastian not far away great scenery
Food was very well cooked and presented.The spa bath is not suitable for people with any mobility difficulties due to its depth the outdoor pool is great. Staff and service fantastic menu limited if staying more than a few days.would stay again but for max 4 days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from istanbul

Close to everything and staff well trained and exc

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Everything is perfect, the perks for my 1,5 year old boy is a wonderful surprise
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from providence ri

Great location in beautiful place

Posted Aug 6, 2015
We loved the decor and bring right on the beach. There are so many places to sit, rest, relax. Inside and outside. We walked on the promenade constantly. Delightful! Go at the end of July go Fetes De Bayonne! Wear red and white!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Superb but expensive hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Aside from the exorbitant fees for in-hotel dining (even buffet), the only snag was not being allowed to check-in until after 4:00 p.m. as per hotel policy. After finally checking in, it also took more than a half-hour and a follow-up visit to reception to get our luggage delivered to the room. We were told that we could leave our luggage while waiting to check-in, but not our one bag that contained valuables. Otherwise, the hotel is brilliant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Good hotel with great views of the beach

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: The room/bed.
Cons: We would prefer a fresh water pool. Giving the option to include breakfast in the room rate.
Location: Great beach front location but it's a little out of the main town
Really nice hotel with some very helpful staff. It's in a lovely beach front location with a nice pool area. Our room was a good size with a very comfy king size bed. The breakfast was very good with lots of choice but it's disappointing that it wasn't included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gloucestershire

Ugly hotel on the sea

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: The position, the bed, the swimming pool
Cons: See above
Location: The hotel is slightly out of the center, the position right on the sea excellent, good walks, There is a bus to go to Bayonne, a lovely town .
The architecture is atrocious, the taste of the public rooms disappointing, the facilities: swimming pools, treatments excellent. The room had a view of the sea and you could hear the vawes which was lovely. The bed was very comfortable, the chairs had stains on the seats which in a hotel of those pretensions is unacceptable, the bathroom was fine except that there was no extractor fan, again not up to the stars.... We only had dinner in the restaurant once, the dining room has a low ceiling, ugly decor, over complicated food. There are some pleasanter restaurants in Biarritz with classic French food...