Ratings based on 448 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼 We'll definitely come back he

Posted Aug 21, 2017
A lot of things to do from swimming, water sports/activities, hiking, restaurants, Live concerts. If feels like you're not in the U.S because of a lot of Foreigners...cool! Staff are very friendly and most of all, very clean! ( my no.1 criteria) 👍🏼😀. We'll definitely come back here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington canada

Rustic and clean

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Amazing location and setting. Two floor cabin was comfortable and fairly quiet. Restaurant for breakfast foid was bland and waitress was cold and unattentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Beautiful resort, located on the Bass Lake. The room we've got was big and clean. The best breakfast! Very friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Michele Asten, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review! We appreciate the kind words!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short visit

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Stayed one night with the family as we were passing through and wanted to see Yosemite. The resort is in a great location next to the lake, and has nice facilities, two restaurants and bar, market, gas station. The chalets themselves are basic and rustic. Some of the furniture is a bit gross and the bathrooms were not the most clean. But it is what you expect a rustic lake resort in the woods, not a luxury hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Michele Asten, Hotel Management
Dear Guest... Thank you for your review of your recent stay with The Pines Resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are currently in the process of renovating and updating our chalets. I am sorry to hear that you had some issues with your room, I would like to invite you to come back and stay in one of our newly renovated chalets. If you are interested, please feel free to contact me and I can help you with that personally.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Yosemite

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms need updated
Location: Bass Lake and Yosemite
The hotel is located on the lake and just a short 40 min drive from the insanity of Yosemite. We enjoyed our stay and the grocery store on site was a great convenience. The rooms are dated and well worn but clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Michele Asten, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with The Pines Resort. We are currently in the process of renovating and updating our chalets. The project is about 85% complete and on schedule to finish soon. We hope that you will stay with The Pines Resort for your next family vacation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from whetstone az

It is not a hotel.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Bass lake is very pretty.
Cons: The way the resort is advertised needs to be totally redone. It is not a hotel.
Location: It is about 90 minutes from Yosemite National Park.
This is not a hotel. These are run down cabins. No air conditioning, just a noisy old swamp cooler. They are two stories with the bed and bathroom down stairs. The downstairs has no exit and no air conditioning or cooler. The carpet was dirty and stained. The sheets were not big enough for the bed and didn't cover it. There is no housekeeping. They do not come in and clean your cabin. The pool area does not have enough chairs or tables. We also had an issue with parking. Security advised us we did not get a guaranteed spot by our cabin. It was a long walk up the hill.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Michele Asten, Hotel Management
Dear Kim... I want to start by saying that we are disappointed that The Pines Resort did not meet your expectations. Our resort has 2 types of rooms available, the chalets which are two story cabins, and our suites which are all lake front, one floor rooms. We are currently in the process of renovating all of the chalets with new appliances and air conditioners. Please contact me directly through the Reservations desk, I would like an opportunity to discuss your stay with us further. Thank you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs to be deep cleaned... Surface cleaning .bad

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Dirty...need to deep clean. No toilet paper and supplies,bring your own $300 a night but bring your own t/p Nothing else to say....
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by Michele Asten , Hotel Management
Dear Guest... We are very disappointed to hear about your recent stay at The Pines Resort. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you further. My name is Michele and I can be contacted through the Front Desk. Thank you for your time and review. I hope to hear from you.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very costly but no comfort. Beds were terrible.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Needs complete makeover and new furniture tv, beds, floors, comforters etc. They charge you top dollars because of the demand. Terrible service. Rude staff. Restaurant experience wad really bad. Food was all frozen and fried. They charge $26 per entree for pasta and served almost uncooked pasta.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by Michele Asten Front Desk Supervisor, Hotel Management
Dear Guest... I am sorry to hear about your recent experience at The Pines Resort. I would like an opportunity to speak with you about your stay. You can contact me directly through the Front Desk, please ask for me by name and I will be in contact with you as soon as possible if I am out of the office. Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback from our guests and I hope to hear from you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Juan Capistrano, CA

Relaxing resort on the lake

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Location: If you love being on a beautiful lake and near Yosemite then this is the place for you. If you need fast food, Oakhurst Roundtable rocks!
The views were amazing. It offers a lake with water sports, Olympic lap pool, hot tub and sand with fire pit, all right on the shore of the lake. We stayed in a chalet and the beds were hotel quality. The chalet felt very much like an A frame ski cabin. Rustic but comfortable. All the amenities of home including air conditioning upstairs in the main living area and downstairs in the bedroom. Jennifer, Deana, Michelle and all of the other staff were very friendly and helpful. They never made us feel like we were inconveniencing them. The rooms have a full kitchen but if you want to eat out you should go upstairs to Ducey's bar and grill. We also rented a pontoon boat and they were very friendly and helpful. Are you getting the idea that we enjoyed our stay at The Pines resort?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2017 by Heather - Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you Kelly for your rave review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff helpful and friendly. I will be sure to let them know. We are looking forward to your next visit!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for families in a budget, but needs work

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: It was inexpensive. Our room, while in need of updates did have a nice private balcony overlooking the lake which was nice
Cons: Update, clean up the exterior areas
Location: Relatively close to Yosemite and the nearest town
Photos of the hotel show a beautiful place and while it is on a nice setting on Bass Lake, the exterior of the hotel and surrounding buildings are in need some serious attention and upkeep. Our room was generally ok, a suite with a nice balcony/deck overlooking the lake. We had lunch at the restaurant and the food was ok, but I will say the bartender guy, a big burly fellow who served us was really an excellent server and gracious. The place gets a lot of guests with families, small kids etc. I think there is a probably a lot to do for them, with boating, swimming and fishing and if you are on a budget and know your kids could care less about the exterior then the place is fine. When we were young with kids we probably stayed at a lot of places like this but for a more seasoned and discerning traveler, you might look elsewhere. Also very, very busy and noisily vs tranquil on the lake but again, many people would not be bothered by the noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Heather, Hotel Management
Thanks for the feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the proximity to Yosemite National Park and the lovely views of the lake from our suites. I will definitely pass on your kind words about the bartender. The Resort is currently in the process of upgrades and we hope to be finished by next year. If you stay with us again, I recommend early spring or fall, as the crowds and noise level is much lower. Hope to see you again! Sincerely, Heather Kolberg Guest Services