Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal,canada

quiet hotel in the jungle close to everything

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Beautiful landscaping outside . Always ate outside.
Cons: Cleanliness, garbage removal more often
Location: Pointe noir, close to town , beaches, fish market, waterfall,zoo, botanical gardens
Comfortable bungalow with mosquito netting, wifi. Garbage should have been collected more often. Found some cockroaches in room. Could have used more shelves for clothes etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place very close to Costeau Reserve

Posted Feb 14, 2016
Pros: See above
Kotesi is owned and managed by Mme Genevieve who welcomes you with a Tipunch and local specialities. It has a feel of paradise amidst a beautiful botanical garden. The bungalow is equipped with everything. Plenty of nearby beaches, diving opportunities at the Costeau reserve and you can hike the vulcano if you feel adventurous. Hope to be back- a la prochaine. Merci Genevieve
5 out of 5
by Yves Charron from Sherbrooke, Quebec

Fantastic hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2013 on Hotels
We stayed at the Kotesi for 4 nights. The hotel was clean, and well maintained, comfort and amenities were also great. Only one thing need to be improved... the hotel directions, signs from both the hotel and city are almost invisible, the indications for "trou caverne" should be replaced by the city, I think that the owner should request the city to change them as they are invisible from one direction, and the extent of the damages from the other direction makes it invisible. As far as the hotel sign it probably dates more than 20 years and the hotel owners should invest a few Euros to replace it. We arrived late in the evening and lost almost an hour to find the hotel...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

paradise garden

Posted Jan 20, 2013 on Hotels
we really enjoyed our stay in the Kotesi bungalow. It a haven of peace and quiet and the setting is gorgeous. The bungalow was quite basic, but the kitchen was well kitted-out. The wifi is quite temperamental - I think it depends which way the wind is blowing! It is NOT easy to find (an advantage once you are there) and I am certainly glad that we didn't try to find it in the dark.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Annecy

Hôtesse très accueillante

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Accueil chaleureux et présence discrète et souriante. Bungalow dans un joli jardin aménagé et éducatif, situé sur les hauteurs de Pointe Noire où la fraîcheur nous permet de passer d'excellentes nuits. Nous avons adoré le dîner préparé pour notre arrivée ainsi que le nécessaire pour le petit déjeuner. Une intention très appréciable après un long et fatigant voyage. Le bungalow est très bien aménagé, confortable avec une belle terrasse dans un écrin de verdure. Nous y avons passé un excellent séjour. A recommander.
5 out of 5
by Eduardo from Santiago de Chile

Relax in the mountain

Posted Dec 31, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly and wellcoming owner, who is a lady dedicated to improve every day and share her beautiful garden. She has a lot of details with us like take and drop off us at the airport, wash our clothes and invite us to a delicious reception. You feel really at home. It's compulsory to rent a car.
5 out of 5
by Romain from Paris

Pleine nature

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
en couple
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rostock

Wundervolle Lage und Herbergschefin

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Die Grünanlagen und die Plätze zum entspannen!
Cons: Ja, bei Temperaturen von 25°-28° C in der Nacht, wäre eine Klimaanlage in den Bungalows vielleicht nicht die schlechteste Wahl.
Location: Ponte Noire. Da die Insel nicht all zu groß ist, kann man von der Anlage aus, alle Attraktionen der Insel bestens erreichen.
Die Bungalow-Location Kotesi liegt sehr versteckt auf einem Berghang, im "Dschungel". Ohne Navigation sehr schwer zu finden, da relativ schlecht ausgeschildert. Aber einmal da angekommen, fühlt man sich sofort wohl. Die Anlage ist ein kleiner, aber feiner idyllischer Botanischer Garten mit unglaublich viel Ruhe! In 2 Bungalows ist nur Platz für 8-10 Gäste und wir waren dort zur zweit ganz allein. Nach äußert interessanten Tagesgeschehen, kann man hier so richtig gut relaxen!
5 out of 5
by Etienne from Fontenay-sous-Bois (94)

Un bon compromis entre tourisme et authenticité

Posted Feb 27, 2015 on Hotels
L'endroit est étonnant. Il faut y accéder, sur les pentes d'un ancien volcan (le "Belle Hôtesse") mais cela ajoute au pittoresque du lieu. Puis l'on arrive dans cet espace qui a des allures de jardin botanique. En pleine nature, bien que les environs soient habités. Les animaux sont présents : oiseaux de toutes sortes (en particulier deux rouges-gorges qui ont assisté à tous nos repas), poules, grenouilles le soir... Le confort est simple mais nous installe dans la simplicité de la vie sur l'île. L'hôtesse mérite aussi notre curiosité. Par ailleurs, la ville de Pointe Noire n'est pas touristique, cela favorise l'approche de la population locale. Nous recommandons également la table d'hôtes "L'Oasis", située un peu plus bas dans un endroit improbable et tenu par un original. Les plats de poissons y sont délicieux.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nette Bungalows im Regenwald

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Es gibt leider keine Klimaanlage und die Bungalows sind überall offen (s.o.).
Cons: Es wäre super, wenn die Zufahrt geteert werden würde und die Bungalows besser gegen Moskitos geschützt wären.
Location: Von hier aus ganz nah: Reserve Cousteau - super zum Schnorcheln und Tauchen
Das Kotesi ist nicht ganz einfach zu finden und die Anfahrt auf teilweise nicht geteerten, steinigen Wegen etwas abenteuerlich, aber die Bungalows sind ganz schön und gut ausgestattet, insbesondere die Küche, hier gibt es alles was man braucht - sogar Frühstück, wenn man spät anreist :-) Die Vermieterin ist sehr nett und zaubert tolles kreolisches Essen. Beachten sollte man unbedingt, dass man sich hier schon hoch oben im Regenwald befindet und sich sehr vor Moskitos in Acht nehmen muss - aktuelle Dengue-Fieber Epedemie auf Guadeloupe!! Die Bungalows sind leider überall offen, so dass die Moskitos überall herein kommen können. Über dem Bett kann man zwar ein Moskitonetz aufspannen, aber man hält sich ja auch in der Wohnung auf. Ein Mietwagen ist hier ein Muss und er sollte stark genug sein um die steilen Wege zu meistern.