Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Charming hotel close to Bath. A bit of an adventure to reach, down narrow winding roads, but a wonderful find tucked in the hills.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel was bit date all round

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: the views
Cons: a better welcome when you arrive not come out see you their then got back behind the screen..
Location: the location was good as I have said. not much to do but if you what a quite time OK.
The location was great but the Hotel itself was a bit date the room was small and did not have any means of air flow to cool it down just a window which was not up to much when it was quite warm in the room...Wood we stay again no.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

Hard to find and no A/C, but lovely!

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: The views from the back patio, the architecture of the building, the staff, the bar, the quiet, plenty of parking spaces,
Cons: Air conditioning could be added - the room was hot at night. The breakfast room was even hotter.
Location: Quick, easy bus ride to Bath. Also, there are hiking trails near by to explore the beautiful surroundings.
We booked this hotel for one night as a break during our drive from London to Cornwall, planning to visit Bath. The hotel was hard to find without GPS, so be sure you have one! Once we found it, we checked in easily and quickly. The hotel is beautiful and looks like an old English manor. The pros: the quiet, stunning scenery from the back patio and parking lot, friendly and helpful staff, beautiful surroundings, bus stop very near hotel for bus into Bath. The cons: the hotel is rather isolated and the restaurants have small windows of time when they are open. There is a pub across the street, which was lovely but had a limited menu. There is no air conditioning and the rooms can get hot when the weather is warm. Sebastien, the manager brought us a fan which made a huge difference, as we couldn't sleep with our window open - there was a bright light outside the window and the employees seem to take their cigarette breaks just outside the window as well. We were in room 21. Be sure to try and get a room on a higher floor to avoid the cigarette smoke.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wrexham

Comfortable hotel convenient for visiting Bath.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Beautiful location, convenient for Bath. Comfortable room, amazing view. Liked the bar and lounge. Staff were friendly.
Location: I was staying for the purpose of attending a graduation at Bath, so no real time to explore.
Limpley Stoke was a convenient base near Bath and not so full. The room had been nicely prepared, was well equipped and clean. The bed was huge - it could have taken three, easily - comfortable and nicely dressed. After returning to the hotel late in the evening, I enjoyed sitting in the well-stocked bar, listening to someone playing a piano in the adjoining (large) lounge, which was filled with leather sofas. It was an unexpected, relaxed and pleasant, end to the day. The third-floor room was hot, unfortunately - it was unexpectedly warm day in early July - but there was a desk-fan which made it possible to sleep, albeit with bedcovers thrown off. Waking up in the morning and looking out at the beautiful valley in front of the hotel, watching the occasional train come and go (quietly, the cutting being well below the hotel) was very pleasant. The bathroom was small and functional, but there was plenty of hot water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Comfortable stay. Nice hotel. Beautiful views.

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Lovely views, comfortable rooms, nice lounge and bar.
Cons: Just easier access to wi-fi
Location: Close to Bath. Lovely little villages to visit nearby.
Comfortable beds. The only issue was that it was not easy to log on to wi-fi in our room. Breakfast was expensive so we went elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet English Countryside

Posted Jul 10, 2017
We stayed here so that we could visit Bath but ended up spending more time in Lower Limpley Stokes. Walk along the Avon River and take advantage of the services the hotel has to offer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sheffield

Lovely helpful staff but small uncomfortable room

Posted Jul 8, 2017
We had a room on the 3rd floor. Very small room, double bed was 2 singles pushed together with an uncomfortable lump in the middle. No air con, and even though they provided a fan room was always unpleasantly hot. Can only imagine it would be unbearable in really hot weather. Breakfast was mediocre. Poor fruit selection, mostly tinned and the bowl of fresh fruit was past its best. To get to the hotel you have to drive down a single lane road - almost got stuck a couple of times with cars coming the other way. Car par was small, and completely full in the evenings when they had a couple of parties on. Staff were very helpful, an managed to find a space for us, but don't know what you'd do otherwise as all the surrounding roads are too narrow to park on.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolutely no parking

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Cons: Parking
I could not park when I checked in so left my vehicle on a grassy bank. When I came back from the theatre, I had to park in the local pub car park. I believe there was a wddding reception but evidently they have them most weekends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Beautiful location

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Friendly staff, quiet hotel - midweek- breakfast buffet was the usual but would prefer freshly cooked not under cloches. Big comfortable king size bed for a single at excellent rate compared to central Bath rates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Restored country mansion

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Great western hotel chain is doing a great job of restoring country estates into very nice hotels while retaining their charm