Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not having the view I expected

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Booked a discounted double bed room with a view. No single photos about this particular room in the expedia website - only photos of suite rooms which must be the best they have. I came to the hotel with quite high expectation but found the room not really spacious, located at the corner of the building, so the view was mixed between the village view and building cement walls etc. Dont get too excited with photos offered in websites otherwise you will be disappointed
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff but still a crappy hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Nothing. I slept in the car.
Cons: Demolish it.
Location: Lairy mining town.
Staff were friendly enough, though had to walk through a packed bar full of tough locals to check in. I am 6ft 1 and very well built; I felt mildly threatened by the clientele in the this ex mining town that is MILES from Bath who instantly started on me as soon as I came in. There should be a separate checkin area for hotel guests. Room was dreadful, creaky floorboards, dated hallways, breezy room, right near the road. Very old property; could be quite charming if it was done up properly; in its current state really rather creepy, actually; would make an excellent filming location for a horror/ghost movie. I didn't believe in the paranormal before I stayed here at all (I am a scientist) but I could swear under oath that I woke up in cold sweats a number of times to what I could have sworn was the sound of children laughing at 3am and saw ghostly child sized images in the corner of my eyes... Pay the extra and stay in Bath; Radstock is so far out of Bath that its just not worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Latvia

Beautiful old building, nicely refurbished.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
We needed a family room in or near Bath and are so glad we stumbled across this wonderful hotel. It is a few kilometres outside Bath in gorgeous countryside, with a lovely nostalgic atmosphere. Bath taxi service is efficient and speedy, with reasonable rates, so it was easy to get around as we didn't have a car. Buffet breakfast was very tasty, with extras like buttered kippers that could be ordered. Beds were very comfortable and everything was clean and tidy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Note to self -

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Our room
Location: Great location country house near to Bath
Great venue for weddings. I now know I should ask if there is a wedding on before booking. All public rooms taken by the wedding only place we could sit for a drink was our room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter, UK

A different experience!

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: The situation is rather splendid and the hotel has enormous potential; the food was acceptable; we certainly got a good price
Cons: The staircarpets are worn; the bar is uninviting and needs a makeover; the lift issue must be addressed asap; redundant furniture must be removed
Location: Very close to Bath and Bradford on Avon, with their many attractions
It must have been a grand place once, but times have changed! A vast Victorian building, rabbit warren-like, on three floors (we were on the third) but with the lift out of order. We kept bumping into members of staff in bare feet, carrying drinks to their rooms. The room was spacious and had a view; but outside the door were three mattresses propped up against the wall, and two bedside cabinets. The mattress on our bed had wire sticking up into the bed so we slept on a blanket. We asked if there was anywhere else to eat in the village and were told there wasn't; but next morning we found the pub just at the bottom of the drive!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, great place to stay

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Very beautiful area and the hotel building itself.
Cons: There was a wedding going on that night and it was quite loud, they should warn people and let them book rooms further away from the event, but other than that I enjoyed my stay there a lot.
Location: Stayed there on our way to Stonehenge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, lovely roomI five star hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: The Location in the village was very pictures ...................................................................................
Cons: A sign in the main road , advising of the location of the hotel
Location: Not far from the train station to Bath
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Terrible experience

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Cons: The staff and general condition of the room
Upon arrival we could not use any of the facilities due to a wedding, which we were not informed about so had to travel into Bath late on a Sunday for dinner instead of dining at the hotel as planned. The room we were given was a twin zipper room even though we paid for a double comfort room. The bed was uncomfortable and the mattresses dipped in the middle due to their age. The shower ran only cold, the toilet did not flush properly, taps were identified hot and cold with felt tip pen, the curtains were broken and hanging off and the heating was on constantly at full temperature and could not be adjusted. When we spoke to the hotel staff regarding these issues they seemed to not care and the only thing they said they could do was put blankets under the sheet of the bed to sort out the dip in the mattresses. Our concerns over the room we paid for were met with just a smirk and shrug then the line 'we are fully booked so there's nothing we can do'. We feel so let down and disappointed with this hotel and would like a full refund on the cost of our stay due to the issues stated above. We paid for a room and service we simply did not get.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from guildford

Lovely Hotel, gorgeous location

Posted Nov 7, 2016
My best friend and I came here for a weekend spa get away and we're thrilled with the Limpley Stoke Hotel! Room was lovely and clean and had everything we needed. We also had dinner here which was lovely and provided gluten free dining for my friend! Would recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely Stay

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Staff and food (had an evening meal, 2 breakfasts and a Wedding meal). All were first rate.
Cons: The hotel could do with minor improvements, but only to move it up to a higher star level. IT was absolutely fine to stay in.
Location: Bath is conveniently close and there are buses to save having to drive and park in Bath, which was challenging.
Stayed for a wedding at the Hotel and was not disappointed in the slightest. The room and the Wedding were excellent, staff were great and lovely food was had by all.