Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Mid week stay in bath

Posted Sep 24, 2016
We arrived just on check in time and our room was ready reception where helpful. Our first night there so we booked to eat in the restaurant. Our room was at the very top of the hotel and the lift was out of action which made it a chore to get to room, though clean and tidy was a very poor layout as bed faced toilet and tv was at far end of room, things that could easily be rectified. Staff where all friendly and helpful. Food was ok though reception had to work bar and food at lunch which was only a sandwich with rather dry nearly stale bread.....all in all a good stsy with a few tweeks could be a 10/10
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Not comfortable and too far from Bath.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Just the outside looks grand.
Location: Far from Bath and nothing to do around.
Beautiful outside, but the room is very small. No air conditioning. Too many stairs even for a ground floor room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harrogate North Yorks

Lovely hotel near Bath

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: even though its a conference hotel it was quiet friendly and in gorgeous location
Location: Bus ride to Bath, lots of walks in gorgeous scenery
Lovely hotel set in gorgeous scenery with plenty of parking and a local bus £4 return to Bath which was 25mins away- a local pub at end of drive way with friendly people-very relaxing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

better if it had a lift

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Cons: get a lift
Location: 5 miles from bath, taxi fare £12, pub at bottom of drive great food , cheerful and friendly staff , highly recommended
all in all , tidy , a bit run down , but making the best of what they have , breakfast a bit steep at £10 , worst thing was , no lift , if you have a disability dont go .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wiltshire

wedding

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: I liked the space this hotel provided on the wedding day.
Cons: Yes I think the staff could smile more and be a little more organised. This is our second visit to the hotel and our experience was similar.
Location: location is lovely overlooking rural area, not far from Bath if you fancied a visit.
We were invited to a wedding and booked an executive suite months prior. The wedding went smoothly and this was mainly due to the bride doing all the arrangements. The food came out on time and staff did make sure things were kept on track. However the checking in was a shocking affair. I could not understand why they did not say to wedding guests, rooms are not ready but if you place your name to say you have arrived we will let everyone know when all is ready. Consequently wedding guests and other guests waiting in long queues blocking the passage. The bed was nice and big and although not memory foam reasonably comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old hotel in wonderful surroundings

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Views & food
Location: Ideal for a visit to Bath race course
Wedding going on when we stayed in September. Room was directly over the disco area so asked to be moved! Hotel staff were very friendly & obliging & we were allocated a quieter room higher up the hotel, only downside was the room was extremely hot, but a fan was provided which helped a bit if you don't mind the noise of the fan! On a more positive note, the food was fantastic! Would definitely stay here again. one final suggestion, it would have been nice to have some back ground music in the restaurant in the evening as they did at breakfast, this always adds to the atmosphere! Thank you for a wonderful stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely views

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Very nice. Huge bed. Nice breakfast but this was an extra £10 each. Would book again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Too far from anything. Not near Bath. Very slow service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from britain

hotel at bottom of long narrow lane

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Convenient for public transport to Bath.
Cons: Staff need to be aware of customer requirements and to converse with customers. Attention to detail lacking. The price on-line went up whilst looking.
Location: Location was extremely rural ( we realized this at the time of booking). Good links to Bath which is what we required.
On arrival at Limply Stoke a kind local lady directed us to this hotel; otherwise it would have been difficult to find. As the photo showed, the building is old, large and imposing from the exterior, with adequate car parking. Entering, we saw a wedding reception in full swing, and headed toward the reception desk further along the corridor. Here a male member of staff (who had just finished talking to someone) turned from the corridor and went into reception and sat behind a partition. After a minute or two, I shouted "Hello" and he came out to the desk! I feel sure he must have seen us carrying luggage from the front door! We finally checked in, only to be told the price we pre-paid did not include breakfast. Also, the lift was out of order and had been for sometime. Why? We were given the key to a room on the 2nd floor which was adequate, not fancy. the bed was good. Although the room appeared clean we noticed cob-webs on the ceiling. We chose not to eat in the hotel so we cannot comment on food. A bus stop was convenient for travel into Bath. After our 2 nights stay we checked out and the receptionist went to check our account, she merely said "that's alright, nothing more to pay". We were not asked whether we had enjoyed our stay or if everything was alright.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surrounded by beautiful scenery

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Staff not very helpful, no where suitable to change ready for wedding as room not available at time of arrival, asked for a sandwich, waited for an hour no response!,I'm sure someone could of made us one or at least got cackling to us , even if bar food wasn't available till 12 and we asked at 11, bedroom very hot couldn't get window to stay open