Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucks

Great location, close to the centre of town

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Location, design and service
Cons: Just a handle for getting in and out of the bath/shower.
Location: Close to the centre of town, shops, Abbey, Baths, thermal spa etc.
Lovely relaxed stay, hotel feels full of history. The building is old but has been decorated very nicely and the uneven floor seem to add to its character. The hotel is in a square and you can imagine the square being used by previous generations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pakistan

Perfection in the centre of Bath

Posted Jan 10, 2017
From arrival to checkout this gem in Bath delivered on all fronts. Staff were fantastic, the hotel was a 10 minute walk from the train station, and all right in the centre of Georgian Bath. What a fantastic stay. Staff were informed and helpful, the room was exactly as advertised, and in room dining for breakfast was a real treat. Importantly great restaurants within minutes, and everyone of Bath's historic locations within a few minutes walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: location, accessibility and parking on site
Cons: lighting levels in the room for reading were poor, no blind on bathroom windows on front of the hotel
Location: excellent location walk out the front door into the middle of bath, lots to do and see
we found the hotel comfortable and welcoming, the staff were helpful and facilities generally were good some of the robes were 'washed out'
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very pretty but not clean!

Posted Dec 15, 2016
The first room I arrived at had cobwebs on the ceiling. My 3 year old had been coughing for over 2 months which the doctors are investigating. The doctor said one thing is that her bedroom need vacuuming daily to get rid of dust! They offered to dust the room but I said that wasn't acceptable so they moved us. The second room we were moved to was a disabled room and had large films of dust on the side tables and what looked like tea stains on the pillows. Obviously I wasn't happy with this! The duty managed asked me to go for dinner and she'd change it for us. We'd already eaten but I couldn't be bothered to say that so we just walked off. I ended up having to buy more food just to keep out of the room. The room was next to the fire door and kept us awake all night. I complained the next day again and they offered us afternoon tea on them. We took it but I still don't think that was good enough. They should have done far more because I explained about my daughters medical needs and the night manager didn't seem to care at all. She was extremely rude!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Rubbish breakfast

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Waited 15 mins for a coffee . And when finally received my scrambled egg it was stone cold
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

Perfect hotel for central Bath stay

Posted Dec 3, 2016
From the moment I walked in through the door it was a memorable experience. I was greeted with smiles and welcomes from three staff members. We'd pre arranged disabled parking and Beverley was quick to call the Concierge (sorry, forgotten his name - he was tall, very friendly and happy to go beyond to help) to park our car and to take our luggage to our room once it was available. Beverley was quick to check us in at the same time being chatty, friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much bother. Our room was great - a superior room on the third floor overlooking rooftops. Well appointed, and clean. Our only minor niggle (which we didn't raise) was that the instant coffee and tea bags weren't replenished. Showering in the Roman Baths was a little surreal but a nice touch to the otherwise standard hotel bathroom. We enjoyed lunch in the lounge. Both servers and food were impeccable. Unfortunately the letdown was Breakfast. Both mornings the cooked food was cold, the tea/coffee and toast took an in ordinate amount of time to arrive, in fact on morning 2, we'd finished by the time my wife's coffee arrived as they forgot it when they brought my toast. The conserves and butters were not replenished despite other guests requests. And one male server had, for unknown reasons, his tie stuffed in to his shirt and bleach or other marks down his trousers. He was scruffy and also unable to follow simple requests from guests. One of our clients is a venue finding agent so when stayi
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Good location

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Room over priced and too small very little storage for hanging clothes.Breakfast choice and service poor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Service

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: The décor was lovely and the rooms were clean.
Cons: Customer service from bar and wait staff on every level. Reception and Concierge staff were good.
This hotel promised so much, but in the end poor customer service tainted our stay and we will not be returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Beautiful building - nearly perfect

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: The room (a feature room) was beautiful.
Cons: At the buffet breakfast all the cooked items were luke warm not hot which was a shame. Carpets throughout very grubby.
Location: Near to the main shops, the theatre and the Thermae Spa which we enjoyed.
Overall good. A beautiful building in a good location. Lobby is very small which makes checking in and out a bit chaotic. breakfast a bit disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Do your homework first.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Great location and most staff friendly enough. My son liked the revolving doors.
Cons: It was very expensive to stay here so we were expecting excellence, so when we arrived to find our room not ready after a long journey we were slightly irritated. It took nearly an hour and three visits to the receptionist for an update before it was ready. We booked a room for three, our 12 yr old son wasn't pleased to find a small fold up bed was his for two nights. This took up most of the free space in the room and it was at this stage we regretted not doing our homework. We have stayed in hotels before and booked a room for three people and had a double and a single bed. This was a double room with a fold up bed and had we known this beforehand we would have went elsewhere. The hotel was carpeted all over but they didn't look like they had been cleaned in a long time. The breakfast staff were sparse and looked overworked. There was one funny moment however when I asked for the full English breakfast from the a la carte menu rather than the buffet only to watch the waitress pick the selection from the buffet herself, take it to the kitchen and presumably microwaved it and return it to me a la carte. You couldn't make it up. Oh and to add insult to injury the hotel car park was an extra £15 on our bill.
Location: Excellent location and lots to do....two nights stay is about right for this town.