Ratings based on 734 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Rubbish breakfast

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Waited 15 mins for a coffee . And when finally received my scrambled egg it was stone cold
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

Perfect hotel for central Bath stay

Posted Dec 3, 2016
From the moment I walked in through the door it was a memorable experience. I was greeted with smiles and welcomes from three staff members. We'd pre arranged disabled parking and Beverley was quick to call the Concierge (sorry, forgotten his name - he was tall, very friendly and happy to go beyond to help) to park our car and to take our luggage to our room once it was available. Beverley was quick to check us in at the same time being chatty, friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much bother. Our room was great - a superior room on the third floor overlooking rooftops. Well appointed, and clean. Our only minor niggle (which we didn't raise) was that the instant coffee and tea bags weren't replenished. Showering in the Roman Baths was a little surreal but a nice touch to the otherwise standard hotel bathroom. We enjoyed lunch in the lounge. Both servers and food were impeccable. Unfortunately the letdown was Breakfast. Both mornings the cooked food was cold, the tea/coffee and toast took an in ordinate amount of time to arrive, in fact on morning 2, we'd finished by the time my wife's coffee arrived as they forgot it when they brought my toast. The conserves and butters were not replenished despite other guests requests. And one male server had, for unknown reasons, his tie stuffed in to his shirt and bleach or other marks down his trousers. He was scruffy and also unable to follow simple requests from guests. One of our clients is a venue finding agent so when stayi
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Good location

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Room over priced and too small very little storage for hanging clothes.Breakfast choice and service poor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Service

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: The décor was lovely and the rooms were clean.
Cons: Customer service from bar and wait staff on every level. Reception and Concierge staff were good.
This hotel promised so much, but in the end poor customer service tainted our stay and we will not be returning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Beautiful building - nearly perfect

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: The room (a feature room) was beautiful.
Cons: At the buffet breakfast all the cooked items were luke warm not hot which was a shame. Carpets throughout very grubby.
Location: Near to the main shops, the theatre and the Thermae Spa which we enjoyed.
Overall good. A beautiful building in a good location. Lobby is very small which makes checking in and out a bit chaotic. breakfast a bit disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Do your homework first.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Great location and most staff friendly enough. My son liked the revolving doors.
Cons: It was very expensive to stay here so we were expecting excellence, so when we arrived to find our room not ready after a long journey we were slightly irritated. It took nearly an hour and three visits to the receptionist for an update before it was ready. We booked a room for three, our 12 yr old son wasn't pleased to find a small fold up bed was his for two nights. This took up most of the free space in the room and it was at this stage we regretted not doing our homework. We have stayed in hotels before and booked a room for three people and had a double and a single bed. This was a double room with a fold up bed and had we known this beforehand we would have went elsewhere. The hotel was carpeted all over but they didn't look like they had been cleaned in a long time. The breakfast staff were sparse and looked overworked. There was one funny moment however when I asked for the full English breakfast from the a la carte menu rather than the buffet only to watch the waitress pick the selection from the buffet herself, take it to the kitchen and presumably microwaved it and return it to me a la carte. You couldn't make it up. Oh and to add insult to injury the hotel car park was an extra £15 on our bill.
Location: Excellent location and lots to do....two nights stay is about right for this town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

A very nice hotel!

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: As mentioned above, the location is, I believe, perfect. Hop on hop off bus stop is almost right out front to take you anywhere
This is a very nice hotel on Queens Square located between the Royal Crescent and the Roman Bath with tons of great shopping and restaurants all around. The room was a decent size and very clean, and the bed quite comfortable, but no minibar and the complimentary water was not replaced each day. Also, there is neither a restaurant or spa facility on site However, the bar is lovely and offers small plates and sandwiches. Also, there is a tea room. I will definitely return
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not value for money.

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Central location and excellent concierge.
Cons: The shabby room.
Location: Roman baths, Bath Abbey, Queen's Crescent and excellent shopping.
The description of the rooms stated that all rooms had baths with an overhead shower and the first room I was allocated was superb but it did not have a bath and I asked to move. This was done extremely efficiently but the room I was given was much, much shabbier than the first and the bath was a badly designed over sized basin. The taps were half way up the wall so there was no way you could regulate the temperature sitting in the bath. The room itself looked out onto a three storey wall, and the kitchen staff congregated outside the outside door so it was very noisy early in the morning. I appreciate the single traveller is always at a disadvantage when it comes to room rates but this room definitely was not worth the money - especially as it didn't include breakfast. However the hotel is centally located and the concierge was excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bath Saturday night stay

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Great hotel with excellent staff. Perfect location for shopping, sightseeing and restaurants. Hotel parking limited on a first come first served basis. Managed to grab a spot but know that people arriving just after didn't and struggled to get a space in the nearby long stay (was a Saturday afternoon). Would highly recommend for a great weekend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W

Perfect staff, poor room

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: The staff were excellent, very knowledgeable and friendly
Cons: Noisy from the road outside and dust and cobwebs! The wardrobe was in darkness, the bed was pushed up a corner making it awkward to walk around.
Location: The location was excellent, 2 minute walk from the main town and only 10 min walk from the baths which were excellent and very interesting.