Ratings based on 292 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Romford

very convenient for visiting Bath

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Reception staff were very helpful
Cons: Number the tables in the restaurant then the waitresses might get the orders right.
Location: Fantastic for visiting Bath
Disappointed we had to wait 30 minutes for breakfast on our first morning. In spite of being guests in the hotel we could not book dinner until 9.30 on Friday and Saturday that was too late for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SE England

Great location

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Fabulous location in the city centre with secure parking facilities (at £15 per night ok). Polite and friendly efficient staff although breakfast service could be better. Rooms clean and comfortable but could do with some modernising for instance television which had poor reception. Good value for money and recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Excellent Hotel in the center of Bath

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Pleasant room.Facility for tea/coffee making. Even though it is in the center of Bath, it was very quiet and you could get a good nights sleep
Cons: Parking is limited.
Location: Great for shopping. The Baths are within walking distance. Lovely outlook over the leafy square.
Really convenient Hotel within walking distance of the shops and the Baths.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salisbury England

nice hotel shame about the room

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Hotel was fine. Good location. Our problem was our room - 301- where we found the background noise from some mechanical workings to be intrusive. It felt like we had a helicopter positioned above us all night long. If we had been at the hotel for another night then we would have asked for a change of room but as we were out much of the time did not make a fuss. We did mention the noise at check out. Hard to believe no one knew about the noise and it felt like an attempt to wear us down with their questions about our actions. Disappointing as we were not complaining but just commenting on being lumbered with such a room. Is it just me or do Expedia bookings get put into the odds and sods rooms? Overall, as I say a decent hotel. Service was so so. Aside from the noise room 301 was also snug. When you have to sit at an angle in the loo then you know the facilities are squeezed in! Would I go back? Yes, for the hotel and its convenience but not for the money asked for that particular box room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucks

Great location, close to the centre of town

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Location, design and service
Cons: Just a handle for getting in and out of the bath/shower.
Location: Close to the centre of town, shops, Abbey, Baths, thermal spa etc.
Lovely relaxed stay, hotel feels full of history. The building is old but has been decorated very nicely and the uneven floor seem to add to its character. The hotel is in a square and you can imagine the square being used by previous generations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pakistan

Perfection in the centre of Bath

Posted Jan 10, 2017
From arrival to checkout this gem in Bath delivered on all fronts. Staff were fantastic, the hotel was a 10 minute walk from the train station, and all right in the centre of Georgian Bath. What a fantastic stay. Staff were informed and helpful, the room was exactly as advertised, and in room dining for breakfast was a real treat. Importantly great restaurants within minutes, and everyone of Bath's historic locations within a few minutes walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: location, accessibility and parking on site
Cons: lighting levels in the room for reading were poor, no blind on bathroom windows on front of the hotel
Location: excellent location walk out the front door into the middle of bath, lots to do and see
we found the hotel comfortable and welcoming, the staff were helpful and facilities generally were good some of the robes were 'washed out'
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very pretty but not clean!

Posted Dec 15, 2016
The first room I arrived at had cobwebs on the ceiling. My 3 year old had been coughing for over 2 months which the doctors are investigating. The doctor said one thing is that her bedroom need vacuuming daily to get rid of dust! They offered to dust the room but I said that wasn't acceptable so they moved us. The second room we were moved to was a disabled room and had large films of dust on the side tables and what looked like tea stains on the pillows. Obviously I wasn't happy with this! The duty managed asked me to go for dinner and she'd change it for us. We'd already eaten but I couldn't be bothered to say that so we just walked off. I ended up having to buy more food just to keep out of the room. The room was next to the fire door and kept us awake all night. I complained the next day again and they offered us afternoon tea on them. We took it but I still don't think that was good enough. They should have done far more because I explained about my daughters medical needs and the night manager didn't seem to care at all. She was extremely rude!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Rubbish breakfast

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Waited 15 mins for a coffee . And when finally received my scrambled egg it was stone cold
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

Perfect hotel for central Bath stay

Posted Dec 3, 2016
From the moment I walked in through the door it was a memorable experience. I was greeted with smiles and welcomes from three staff members. We'd pre arranged disabled parking and Beverley was quick to call the Concierge (sorry, forgotten his name - he was tall, very friendly and happy to go beyond to help) to park our car and to take our luggage to our room once it was available. Beverley was quick to check us in at the same time being chatty, friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much bother. Our room was great - a superior room on the third floor overlooking rooftops. Well appointed, and clean. Our only minor niggle (which we didn't raise) was that the instant coffee and tea bags weren't replenished. Showering in the Roman Baths was a little surreal but a nice touch to the otherwise standard hotel bathroom. We enjoyed lunch in the lounge. Both servers and food were impeccable. Unfortunately the letdown was Breakfast. Both mornings the cooked food was cold, the tea/coffee and toast took an in ordinate amount of time to arrive, in fact on morning 2, we'd finished by the time my wife's coffee arrived as they forgot it when they brought my toast. The conserves and butters were not replenished despite other guests requests. And one male server had, for unknown reasons, his tie stuffed in to his shirt and bleach or other marks down his trousers. He was scruffy and also unable to follow simple requests from guests. One of our clients is a venue finding agent so when stayi