Ratings based on 1,076 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Under staffed

Posted Jun 6, 2018
A beautiful hotel, but felt like it was under staffed. Staff looked rushed and unsure at the best of times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2018 by The Leadership Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review regarding your most recent stay with us. We are indeed blessed to have such a beautiful hotel. Do come back and visit us again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2018
Nice hotel needs modernisation and loads of repairs. Cleanness needs improving. Don’t pay for breakfast not worth it WELL OVER PRICED.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2018 by The Leadership Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We do apologize that your stay was not up to satisfaction on this occasion. Your comments will be passed onto the appropriate Heads of Department for immediate review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Woodford Green

Posted Jun 2, 2018
The staff where extremely friendly, all very lovely, but the fire alarm went off at 3 am and I don’t believe it was dealt wit( properly. We did speak to staff the day after, it didn’t come away feeling happy. The hotel is lovely and the outside swimming pool was really relaxing but felt our trip was spoilt by lack of sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2018 by The Leadership Team, Hotel Management
Dear Jo Thank you for posting your review. We sincerely apologize for the lack of sleep due to the sounding of the fire alarm - unfortunately, this was out of our control. We have spoken to our Reception Manager who is immediately implementing additional training. We do hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

Posted May 28, 2018
Nice hotel but the amount i paid expected a bit more for what we got, plus we booked the spa but rang to book treatments they were full not very quick to help with refund plus did use spa facilities and had lunch but very slow service, breakfast excellent staff service very good very attentive,
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2018 by The Leadership Team, Hotel Management
Dear J We are happy to read that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, however we do apologize for the shortfalls in service that you received. Should you wish to return, please contact our Management team whom would be delighted to take care of your booking for you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted May 27, 2018
Fabulous hotel, fabulous staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2018 by The Leadership Team, Hotel Management
Dear Linda Thank you for your 5 out of 5 review! We do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming yu back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Uxbridge

Posted May 13, 2018
I took my wife to this hotel for her 50th birthday it was aNice hotel to stay in I found the hotel a bit pricey £9 for a sandwich and I mean 2 slices of bread £15 for 2 drinks in the bar hence we only had the one would have stayed longer and spent more if it was priced reasonably Breakfast also was a bit stingy one sausage one egg and bacon a single mushroom and to top it a tiny pot of beans about one spoonful probably charged £25 per head for that The room was fine but again not enough sugar to have 2 cups of tea each and 1 single biscuit For the money they charge they would attract more clientele into the hotel if they were to not be so tight on the little things that make it pleasurable
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2018 by The Leadership Team, Hotel Management
Dear Neil Thank you for taking the time to post your review here. We do congratulate your wife on her birthday and hope that you both had a fabulous time! We will definitely take your comments onboard and these will be discussed with all of our Heads of Department. Thank you for your valuable feedback.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Herefordshire

Posted Apr 30, 2018
Not impressed by the £15 car park per night car park fee
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2018 by The Leadership Team, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We have taken the parking fee feedback on account. Thank you. We do look forward to welcoming you back soon. Yours sincerely The Leadership Team at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lowestoft Suffolk

Not at all happy with my stay

Posted Apr 25, 2018
I was told by one of your staff that I would get a completely treatment if I got there before 7pm. That was not true. I didn't know I had to pay 15 a day to park. The man working at spa was not very pleasant said you have to book up treatments two weeks in advance. So had no spaces for my two night stay. Not very warm meal the first night. They just charged for one meal when I spoke about it. Next morning stood on a bit of stone or something like that. In the shower room after having a swim. Left them the stone or bit of tile when I left hotel. In the hope it would not happen to any one else. So stayed out all day on the sat. Came back late evening went to bed was woken at 1 10 in the morning with noise out side. So had to phone to ask for noise to stop. They had been in and shut my curtains while I was out. So I did not know window was opened. Curtains had ripe s in. Next morning bill put under door. A 24 pound bill for drinks was on the bill for the Saturday when I was not there. They took off bill but I am not happy it was a treat for a friend's 60th birthday really upset. As I use ally just do bed and breakfast. Cheap. This was 850 pounds for 2 rooms 2 nights just 2 of us.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2018 by The Leadership Team, Hotel Management
Dear Rosie Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We believe that you have already spoken to our Duty Manager and our Hotel Manager and your concerns have been resolved. Thank you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Good location but service not as expected

Posted Apr 22, 2018
Good breakfast and facility. We stayed two days and the second day they did not clean our room despite us calling the front desk. We had to make the bed ourselves and call the front desk at night to deliver fresh towels which they did. A/C was poor but when we complained they fixed it. Overall not the service we expected
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2018 by The Leadership Team at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Drugbuster Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It's good to read that you found our breakfast good. We are very sorry to learn that your room was not serviced the 2nd day of your stay. We will definitely bring this up with the Housekeeping Department. Apologies. Yours sincerely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The bathroom is very slippery. Be careful!

Posted Apr 21, 2018
The bathroom is very slippery. There was nothing to hold when coming out the bath, except the very hot towel stand. Be careful! I fell and hurt my head to the toilet stone. I had lots of bleeding. There was no mat on the floor when coming out of the bath. They sould provide one, I think!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2018 by The Leadership Team at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Most Valued Guest Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear of your accident. We do hope that you are well? Has this been reported to staff? We are very shocked to hear of this as we do provide floor mats in our bedrooms. Should you wish to discuss your review further, please kindly contact us here directly at the Hotel. Thank you.