Ratings based on 961 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hampshire

Well positioned hotel close to Bath

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Position
Cons: Communication between staff
Location: Bath has it all with Christmas market and very good shopping and restaurants and good galleries and museums.
Overall experience was good, but a few niggles which were irritating: such s our room not cleaned on return at 3pm and small things such as tissues box was empty on arrival. Breakfast took a long time and was slightly chaotic with queues forming for cooked breakfast and then waiting until it was cold when eggs arrived! However, the overall stay was very good and the staff were unfailingly polite and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south coast of England

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: As above
Cons: As above
Location: Nice and close to the city, Christmas market on so very busy,
We really enjoyed our short stay, service was a bit slow we had to wait about 30 mins for a tray of tea in the lounge. Room looked nice the bed was comfortable, but it was cold and the thermostat didn't seem to help, my sister was also on the same floor, she to found the room cold. I used the pool and was surprised to see lots of used plastic cups under the sun beds. ( this was at 7 30 am. )
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Not as good as it used to be

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Very disappointing stay due to staff responses to concerns. Dirty glasses in bar (they were changed quickly when we pointed out the lipstick stains). Breakfast was a shambles - queued to order poached eggs, they arrived then had to queue again for bacon, etc - ran out of items so promised to bring them to table but they didn't arrive. Complained to waitress who apologised & offered to go for more, but as eggs had been eaten it was too late. Mentioned this at check-out but only response was "oh dear"!! We have stayed here a number of times before but are now looking for a new place to stay in Bath - wouldn't recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Bath Market stay

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Lovely hotel. Drinks very expensive. Room needed a better clean. Bin not been emptied.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

15 minutes in the dark

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: The spa.
Cons: One of the receptionists could be less rude.
When I entered my room the lights didn't work so I telephoned the reception to inform them. I telephoned again 10 minutes later and finally, after sitting in my room for 15 minutes, someone knocked on my door and fixed them by pressing a button outside. The lights had tripped. The lady who first checked me in was lovely but one of the other receptionists was very rude.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northamptonshire

Beautifully located hotel not far from town centre

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: The friendly, approachable & helpful staff; the quiet & peaceful surroundings as well as the excellent food plus the attention to detail.
Cons: More staff on desk at checkout.
Location: Within walking distance of Bath city centre with its many cultural & historical venues together with its great shopping.
An overall five star experience for 65th birthday treat. Hotel is set in beautiful, secluded grounds but just a 12 minute walk from town centre (or even shorter taxi drive). The staff were delightful & extremely helpful in accommodating my needs as due to an injury to my leg & resulting mobility difficulties. The evening meal was great as was the room service dinner the following evening. The whole ambience of the hotel is luxurious & the stay overall was well worth the expense. Thoroughly recommend it for a special treat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Was promised complimentary breakfast over the phone by a reception staff member, however this was not the case. Room and hotel on a whole was brilliant, it was just a disappointing end to the stay when they demanded payment for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Beautiful hotel in lovely grounds ,in Bath.

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Ambience . and helpful staff.
Cons: Food.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Booked for one night -stayed for 2. Beautifully appointed and comfortable hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from midlands

Hot quilts and daily car parking charge?

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Excellent hotel though not sure car parking as an add on is necessary as well as £25 pp for breakfast. Quilts were too warm for me and air conditioning a little tricky. Great rooms, spa is brilliant and restaurant dinner is not good value, pricey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

Lovely hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Could do with a little more ambiance.
Location: Bath historical sights are walking distance. Hotel spa is a bonus.
Excellent customer service. Room was nice and spacious. Walking distance from the main town attractions but hidden up and away from the bustle. If you're looking for an upmarket quiet hotel then this is for you.