Ratings based on 353 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful 14th Century inn

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Cons: About a 15-20 minute drive away from bath, through beautiful countryside and old villages.
The staff were very accommodating with our late arrival. We were over the moon with our beautiful room with a four poster bed and en suite bathroom. The inn itself is a very enchanting place, with so much history and set out of the way in a beautiful little village. Very much hoping to return there again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Wonderful

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Incredible place to stay, full of charm & character. Super staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic Inn

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Fantastic old building in nice village setting. Plenty of parking. When we visited bars were a little dead but was early December. Unable to comment on the food as we didn't eat there. Room very atmospheric and old. Large comfortable bed. Large TV. Good breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Fabulous character hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: Charming friendly staff, great atmosphere, lovely open fire, good choice of food and great beer. Rooms full of history and charm and comfortable.
Cons: The only draw back is the toilets are outside, but there is nothing that can be done about that which wouldn't spoil the building.
Location: Came via Stourhead on way to Longleat, Bradford-on-Avon and Bath. Fabulous.
Very pleasant stay in this historic place. Great for our niece over from New Zealand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sunshine coast Aus

Fabulous hotel, the history alone is worth going

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: Great old room, comfy bed, really good food
Cons: Can't think of anything really
Location: Bus into Bath was fantastic, we had 2 full days in Bath.
So much history, very knowledgable land lady. Bus stops outside for trips into Bath. Can't really fault it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for Bath

Posted Nov 26, 2017
This was a lovely place in a gorgeous village outside of Bath. We stayed overnight whilst visiting Bath Christmas markets. The Inn is really atmospheric with excellent Beer. The room had everything we needed and there was a great breakfast. We would loved to have stayed longer to explore the village.
5 out of 5
by John

Posted Nov 18, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful one night stay at the historic George Inn which is full of character. Lovely food and drink in the bar in the evening and warm and welcoming staff made for a relaxing and memorable stay. We had the 4 poster room which was pretty special. Good breakfast in the morning too. Can highly recommend
5 out of 5
by Melanie

Posted Nov 16, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful old pub with very interesting rooms totally wonky floors, walls, just great.
5 out of 5
by Megan

Quaint, Charming Inn--a must stay!

Posted Nov 12, 2017 on Hotels
We LOVE, LOVE, LOVED the George Inn. We stayed in the Samuel Pepys (pronounced Peeps) room, which has an amazing wooden four-poster bed and slopes beautifully--we loved that the owners didn't try to eliminate the original feel of the building. The entire inn is unbelievably quaint, and the beer garden has beautiful views of a nearby church. The staff was wonderful and helped us plan some excursions. The food and beer was quite good too. The location worked well for our visit to nearby Bath, as we had rented a car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Dinner and breakfast was terrific. Very historical, quiet and the countryside view from the hotel was breathtaking.