Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Doncaster

we stayed in the excellent Halycon apartments

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: The location is excellent at the top of Milsom Street so easy access to all facilities. The apartmnet was very clean and comfortable.
Cons: The only thing would be a lift as its a fair climb but its grade 1 listed so that's not possible
Location: Very central and within reach of all facilities right in the centre of Bath
we were upgraded to the apartments from the Hotel. Although the apartment was on the top floor of the beautiful Georgian townhouse, with no lift, it was an excellent stay. Check in process was very easy and the apartment was excellent. It was a one bedroomed apartment and the facilities were very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Nice place and easy access to the city center. Liked the cocktail bar in thr basement. All in all a very pleasant night away
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet comfortable hotel, convenient location

Posted Jan 11, 2016
The Halcyon is in a classic Georgian building, on a quiet square a short walk from the train station. Location is convenient, near most "must-see" sights, with an abundance of tasty restaurants nearby. Staff was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Luton

Good location

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: No wardrobe space. Clothes were hung on racks in front of the mirror. The mini kitchen space would have been better utilised as a wardrobe.
Location: The Thai restaurant (Mai Thai) next door was fantastic. All the main attractions were within 5 minutes walk of the hotel.
Very well situated for all attractions. Plenty of good restaurants within 5 minutes walking distance. The hotel was clean and comfortable and staff were very friendly. Our room was at the front above the bar and was very noisy at night especially when people were smoking outside. Also a lot of noise from the taxi rank opposite. We would go back again but would request a room at the back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Location was great, but our room was at the top of extremely narrow, steep stairs, which were extremely difficult to navigate with suitcases. Moreover, the carpet was dirty and ragged.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath

Great Location parking nearby

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Nice hotel , small room , I kept bumping my leg when trying to walk around the bed . Great location with lovely staff , nice cocktail bar downstairs. Comfy bed . No mattress protector under the sheet . Very clean . Continental breakfast .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel 3 min walk to the center

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: Breakfast, staff and location
Close to everywhere you would want to go as well as being down the road from Bath Spa station. Close to a lot of restaurants and tourist eats such as Sally Lunn. the hotel staff very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Would recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Perfect location

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Really nice hotel. They should all be this standard. Helpful staff and nice room, would stay here again if the price was still good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well-decorated hotel, close to train station

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: location, calming vibe, staff, breakfast
Cons: the fan in the bathroom, provide face cloths and conditioner
Location: excellent location - close to train station, Roman baths, town center, shopping
I enjoyed my night at the Halcyon - it was very quiet, charming and has a calming interior design. The check-in staff were very welcoming and the breakfast was perfect. One thing I have noticed that many bathrooms in B and Bs lack in the UK, including The Halcyon, is face cloths. Also, the room provided shampoo but not conditioner....if I don't put conditioner on my hair, it looks like Margaret Thatcher's so I actually had to go to a pharmacy and buy some. The location is great - a short walk from the train station, the Roman baths and the center of town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Room was small. Hotel is in great location; just a short walk to the shops and tourist attractions. Bar downstairs was excellent with a great atmosphere and very nice cocktails.