Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Sep 14, 2017
This hotel was like a maze where a map route to the 2 rooms we booked would have been helpful. Lots of stairs and very small inconvenient lift. Breakfast unexciting and an added extra not expected from booking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from essex

Avoid

Posted Aug 31, 2017
The hotel reception staff is not very friendly and the room had a terrible smells and the bathroom is not clean. It is not worth the money. Location is near the centre but steep walk up the hill back. Will not stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, UK

Hotel in central position

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: The staff were excellent
Cons: Change the mattress and have an option for a thinner duvet (or a sheet so that one has the option to cover oneself with something less heavy)
Location: Bath city centre is very close with a huge variety of museums, shops and parks. We went to the American Museum which was fantastic
The hotel looks nice and is in a very good central position. The staff were incredibly good, polite and very eager to please. The room looked lovely and after spending the day in Bath we looked forward to a good night's sleep. However, the mattress was reminiscent of a trampoline, so that every time one of us moved, it disturbed the other. The duvet was more fitting for the North Pole in winter - we stayed at the hotel in August! We spent the majority of the night cat-napping on top of the bed rather than sleeping in it. Breakfast was good and the parking was adjacent, but for just under £110 for one sleepless night (incl breakfast and parking), we felt it was not good value for money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Old - don't change towels

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: Pull it down
Location: Not good
Long uphill walk - make sure you're in shape - extra gym a few moths before travelling recommended. Staff have no English - None - they mostly guess what you're saying
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for short stay

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Very tired but clean - staff helpful. Local transport helps with location very good value to use.
5 out of 5
by janine

enjoyed my stay

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff, good bar food , slightly creaky floors in bedroom but expect that from an older hotel. Will visit again :)
3 out of 5
by bart

Hot and Expensive

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
The room was extremely hot. The room was very expensive. However, the food was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very average

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Behind the nice facade tired dirty rooms very old fashioned
4 out of 5
by O

Lovely hotel full of character

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel with plenty of character. Our room was spacious clean and light with a balcony overlooking the beautifully kept garden. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast very good. The location is good with a fair, 15-20 minute downhill walk to the centre, it's is steep uphill on the way back though! Royal Crescent is within easy reach and Lansdown Crescent is worth a stroll as well.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bath

Appalling Hotel - Avoid

Posted Jun 3, 2017
I stayed at this Hotel for my anniversary. Requested quite room, no quite room provided. In fact given room near lift which was constantly making noise. Than next day stopped working. In room, fan was not working, sheets were dirty and hand towels had blood marks. Hotel is dated and almost half the stuff in the room is either not working or just about working. Even the electrics sockets heats up. Staff did not even have the courtesy to say Happy Anniversary or even ask how the stay was. This is one of the worst hotels I have stayed in. Please please please avoid. If management are looking at this, call me to discuss as this is appalling service for over £100 per night stay.