Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2016
The hotel is very near the town centre. The room was big clean and very comfortable. The staff were polite and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very comfortable one night stay.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Room was very clean and comfortable, staff very polite and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.
Cons: Nothing really - only thing that could have been improved upon was the decor - some of the decor was a bit dated.
Location: Great location, short walk into middle of town - hill was quite steep but fine for most people.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winston-Salem, NC

Close to Bath City Center

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Staff and comfortable rooms and beds.
Cons: Parking spaces were narrow. The assigned parking space cones need to be placed in the space not hidden behind the car parked in the adjacent spaces!
Location: On the park and ride city bus route. Stop just outside the front of the hotel
A beautiful hotel with a Victorian ambiance. Very reasonable rates with complementary full English breakfast. On the bus route to center of Bath. Hotel parking can be a bit confusing. Overall a fantastic stay. All of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

Top Hotel in a great city

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: It had a homely feel about it that drew us in to the facilities available.
Cons: there was far more parking that advertised, across the road and around the back.
Location: Bath is full or sights and interests for anyone who needs a city break. Restaurants and tearooms are in plenty as are the shops and pubs.
From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel like the only guests in the hotel, service was brilliant and efficient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stuttgart

Mittelklasse Hotel Nähe Stadtzentrum

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Aufenthalt war kurz, Frühstück war typisch Britisch, nicht besonderes. Für kurze Aufenthalte gut.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Lancs

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Nice hotel no problems Alarm did go off twice told it was not usual good response. Check pricing on line Overall would return and recommend
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Strathmore Vic Australia

Overlooking Bath

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: It has that old world feel, very relaxing and comfortable. Our room was very large and overlooked Bath.
Cons: Some of the fittings are showing their age, but the ambience makes up for it.
Location: Historic Bath - Roman Baths, Bath Abbey, Jane Austen's house, good variety of shops, the architecture and buildings.
The Lansdown Gate Hotel is an old mansion. It has an old world feeling and appearance. The reception were really helpful in explaining routes and how to get around Bath as well as ordering taxis etc. There are some peaceful gardens to take a coffee or tea and unwind.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon/Manchester

Comfortable clean and convenient

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Calm friendly atmosphere. Ideal location.
Cons: Some decor is a bit tired but that did not detract from our enjoyment of the hotel.
Location: Ideal location. Quiet with convenient access to the city.
Very friendly staff nothing was too much trouble. The hotel was ideal for our city break. It is situated in a convenient location to access the popular attractions of Bath. It is located on a bus route. The walk into the centre of the city is about 10 to 15 minutes and the same across to the Royal Crescent. It is on a hill and this may not suit everybody. We found it very convenient and enjoyed the fact that it was in a quiet location. The food was lovely and the restaurant staff were very friendly and efficient. We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed our time there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, average hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Nice building, but the rooms and decor in general is quite dated. Not dirty or anything just fairly standard 3*, not modern or stylish. Breakfast was ok, nothing to shout about. It's only a short walk to the city centre which was good, but it is up quite a steep hill. The fire alarm went off at 1am which was a bit annoying, but at least it works. What was annoying was the lack of direction or information from hotel staff. All the guests were standing out in the car park with no sign of staff for 20 minutes until someone came out to tell us it was a false alarm and we can go back in.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Faulty Towers revisited!

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Poor service and the hotel was very old-fashioned. Inadequate parking facilities.