Ratings based on 784 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel good position

Posted Jul 13, 2017
bath can be reached by walking along the canal or catching the river boat into the center, the hotel has a very good Italian restaurant .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Hotel to Recommend

Posted Jul 9, 2017
A pleasant hotel, good staff and a place that you would be pleased to visit. This is the last review for Expedia, we wanted to say a few words, but Expedia expect too much !!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bornemouth

Beware of 'the lodge'

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The setting is lovely and the investment in self sustainability with the water wheel is to be applauded. The guy on reception was very helpful
Cons: The lodge knocked down
Location: The water taxi into bath from the bank opposite is brilliant and the two crew members, informative, maybe controversial, but definitely entertaining.
the description for these rooms should read something along the lines "the lodge is accomodation best suited for stag and hen parties who are well largered up and have little concern for comfort, facilities or temperature control
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Davids

SUPERB AND DOWN TO EARTH,

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: all good
Location: superb
Very happy with both the venue and the staff, good Italian restaurant and lovely breakfast looking forward to staying again, my daughter left her laptop computer in the room and the staff contacted us straight away and arranged for it to be forwarded on to us, arrived the next day, very helpful and down to earth, good beer and food and next to the river what more could you ask for. many thanks
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Isle of Wight

Fantastic location

Posted May 28, 2017
Fantastic location. Shower enclosure leaking, whirlpool bath not working, no a/c. Window dirty with torn net curtain. Dinner was tasty but not the hottest, breakfast much the same. Better off in a Premier Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Exeter

Nice hotel!

Posted May 23, 2017
Cons: Air con would be good, the Breakfast buffet wasn't the best in the world, fresh is best.
We were a little concerned after booking on reading some of the reviews from travellers staying in the Lodge, but we were happily in the main hotel and found it excellent. Comfortable, well appointed and an excellent view - my only minor criticism would be that it was quite warm in the room, and the alternative was to open the balcony door overnight, if you are a light sleeper this might not be an option given the constant thump of the water wheel! Personally this isn't a problem, but it is something to be aware of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ipswich

Beautiful setting

Posted Apr 27, 2017
We had an excellent stay. The location was perfect, the breakfast was substantial, the rooms were quiet, warm and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Location and hotel was good, just the condition and standard of the room let it down.
5 out of 5
by Lesley

Adequate for a one night stay.

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel in lovely position by the river. Our room was in the annexe which was a bit off putting from the outside. Inside the room was clean and adequate for our one night stay. The walls were a bit thin and we could hear next door's TV and we're woken by it at 7am! Kettle had a small hole in it which meant the kettle couldn't be filled to the top. Breakfast, served in the main hotel, was good. Self service with both cooked breakfast and cereal etc available. Would have liked more choice in fruit, just grapefruit segments available. Toast brought to the table just after we sat down as were hot drinks. Would stay again if in the area.