Ratings based on 1,623 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madisonville, LA

Convenient, but dated hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: The bathrooms are too small and dated.
Location: River Center, USS Kidd, State Capitol
The hotel was located in the heart of downtown Baton Rouge. The location is across the street from the River Center and USS Kidd. It is a walk from the State Capitol. The lobby is up to date and the staff were friendly. There is a casino and restaurant attached to the hotel. The rooms were dated but spacious. My room had a nice view of downtown Baton Rouge. The bathroom however was disappointing to say the least. It was so small that only one person could be in there at a time. It was very dated. Also, the area is a little noisy at night. Railroad tracks are next to the hotel and if a train is running at night it will wake you. The hotel rooms are in need of a major facelift.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice close to downtown area

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean. And was so close to downtown area. Would highly recommend! !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2016
A nice hotel with a casino attached. Their restaurant was good. Staff should have been better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Not impressed

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Cons: Professionalism of the staff
I chose to stay in this hotel as it it only 7 minutes away from LSU, which is where I was visiting. Check-in time is 3:00PM but I was able to check-in at noon with no questions asked. The staff is courteous but lacking in professionalism, big time. I stood at the counter watching the Hotel Clerk laugh and giggle with someone in another room before coming up to assist me. Aside from that, the hotel is decent. The room looks nice and free wifi is included along with a business center. The walls in the rooms were EXTREMELY thin. I could hear very clearly what songs were being listened to in the room next to me and what Tv shows were being watched. I could hear the conversations of those in the next room very clearly. Despite all of these things, I decided to remain optimistic and not judge the place too harshly as I was only there for one night. Here is what really upset me. At 2:00 AM we were woken up by an alarm, blinking lights and a voice over the intercom saying to evacuate the building and that there was an emergency. After traveling down 4 flights of stairs into the cold night, myself and other guests went to the main lobby, where the clerks were behind the counter nonchalantly laughing and talking and they tell us "Oh it's a false alarm." No sense of urgency, no apologies, not a care in the world. THIS is what upset me. I had an interview for a Doctoral program at LSU that next morning, and this is what I had to deal with. I was SO upset.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Nice hotel on the river walk.

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Love the open space of the atrium. Also loved the great free breakfast and coffee.
Location: Military, art and science museum are on the river walk. They are in walking distance from the Belle. Don't miss out on seeing the capital buildings.
Enjoy the river walk, museums and city life during the day and casino and night. Lots to do and enjoy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Best location for downtown event

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: It was very clean and comfortable.
Location: Very close to river walk, museums, convention center, and old Capitol Building. Short drive to Trader Joe's & other shopping. Convenient to highway.
The room and hotel were very clean. Nice view from the room. Very quiet and private. Parking was safe and convenient. Walking distance to everything downtown, and within 15 minutes of convenient shopping. The hotel was one of the highlights of my trip and I would stay here again, and highly recommend it to others.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the Ball

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: Its easy access to the River Center
Cons: The hotel needs a major facelift. Carpet is frayed,the rooms look old.
Location: River Center,downtown,Mississippi River.
Out room on the 10th floor was close to the elevator. Each time the elevator moved it grinds and sounds like a loud pop. It was impossible to sleep. When we complained they told us that they get frequent complaints about the issue but have to use the rooms when the hotel is full. They reduced the bill 30 dollars. 89 dollars is still a lot of money not to sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bossier City, LA

Nice hotel very close to LSU!

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Everything was good and the location to LSU was great!
Cons: The hotel is a bit dated but it is still very nice.
Location: The hotel is within walking distance to Pastime Restaurant which is a Baton Rouge landmark with the best pizza in town. It is also convenient to LSU!
We got a great rate for this hotel through Expedia and didn't expect perfection considering how inexpensive it was. I have stayed here before and felt that it was a good rate considering what I remembered of the hotel. I had told my daughter not to expect much but was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The hotel is in much better shape than when we stayed before which was a few years ago. The rooms were very nice and the beds very comfortable. The interior of the hotel seemed to have been spruced up too. Everything was really nice and the staff were very pleasant and accommodating. A good breakfast was included in our great rate which is always a plus. I was also surprised to find out how close it was to LSU. We were there for my daughter's college visit and it took less than 10 minutes to get to the university from the hotel with no need to get back on the interstate. We attend a lot of LSU football games and usually ride the transit bus from Pastime Pizza. We were really surprised to find that the restaurant we had been to so many times was literally within walking distance to this hotel and we hadn't even realized it before. We will definitely be looking to book here again during football season and since my daughter will be attending LSU in the fall it was a great find for those times when we'll be in Baton Rouge visiting her. I can't speak about the Casino because we've never been in it but the hotel did include some token passes for it at check-in too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Enjoyed our stay! Very relaxing! Will not believe everything I read in reviews about hotel. Hotel is very nice and staff is very friendly! Lots to do in the area if not there is plenty to do like at the mall and other areas! We visited the USA kid, museum , restaurants , and did a lot of walking! Would recommend to all that are retired and or like to do a little gambling! We don't gamble but like site seeing!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Mediocre

Posted Jan 18, 2016
We couldn't check- in to the hotel until 3:00 PM. Upon check-in we had to wait in line for 30 minutes while ONE person helped the 10 different people in line. The room was fine but the curtains wouldn't draw closed so the room was pretty bright all night with all the lights outside. There was also an annoying sound in the room next door that sounded like a dog thumping its tail against the wall all night long. The bathroom is tiny, but functional.