Ratings based on 236 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to the interstate

Posted Apr 26, 2017
It was adequate though the breakfast was hardly that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stayed there once, won't stay twice

Posted Apr 24, 2017
The room itself had potential to very comfortable. The hallway smelled stale. There was a thick cover of dust on the light fixtures and bathroom fixtures. The carpet could have used a good cleaning. The staff was very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marlow, England

Hotel next to a very busy road so noise was a prob

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Initially cleanliness of the rooms need to be improved massively.
Location: Didn't stay long enough to find out.
We got to the hotel quite late after a flight. We were given a room which was near to the road and very noisy. Upon entering the bathroom, we found it uncomfortable to use the toilet as it was 'in the process of being repositioned' and was obstructed by the sink unit. The room in general was not very clean. We contacted the front desk and were transferred to another room. This was quieter but no better than the previous (dirty, fridge was rusty, electrical sockets not working, made gras beads found behind TV unit, Etc). Contacted Expedia who said initially they could not do anything but after contacting the hotel manager we were able to change hotels. The manager was very apologetic and said he will need to review his cleaning staffs work ethics to get the rooms to an acceptable standard.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Pass on this if you have breathing problems.

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Strong humid, musty odor in room. Facility has too much deferred maintenance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AU

Quiet comfortable hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Easy check in, comfy room. Nice breakfast. Great all round and good value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Texas

Fairly nice

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Clean,recently refurbished. I don't know if they flooded with the recent problems.
Cons: The toilet was set a bit too close to the bathroom counter and at an angle. A clumsy person or anyone of any size wouldh've bruised a rib.
Location: Local restaurants were limited. Waffle House and fast food or casino food. Cross into Baton Rouge.
When I go out of town, business or pleasure, my needs are basic. The hotel need only be clean and the appearance of safe (2 stars). My wife is quite a bit more, shall we say, discerning(3stars minimum). She'd have approved of the room. However, skip their breakfast. No bacon, packaged cheese omelets,and an automated pancake machine, no thanks I'll pass. Cross over into Baton Rouge.
4 out of 5
by christi

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and we are happy to know that your stay was satisfactory. Our staff has been working hard to ensure a comfortable stay and will continue to do so. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit in Port Allen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Enjoyed my stay. Bed was fantastic. Towel folded like an animal on the bed. Clean and inviting. Heat and air worked great. Very efficient staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Shawn , Hotel Management
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Magnolia Manor. Our goal is to exceed expectations and we promise you that we are working everyday to ensure that each guests is satisfied.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama port

Good for the money

Posted Feb 15, 2017
I prefer a bit more from a hotel however for the price it was good. You could tell the staff has been working hard to upgrade and maintain this property . The staff was friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Shawn, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at the Best Western Magnolia Manor, where we always try to improve our services and our product. Our apology for not meeting your expectations, but I assure you that we will continue to do better. Your comments will be used as a reference to help us serve our guests better. We look forward to serving you during your next visit.
1 out of 5
by Michael

Can't be serious.

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
This place is subpar. Not even worth the paper my $93 was printed on. Towels were hard as cardboard, room was humid and the a/c louder than a Harley Davidson. I could've slept better in my car. The bathroom floor wasn't even level, it caught the door when opening and closing. The toilet was crooked and made my morning glory a little awkward. Don't call that a complimentary breakfast, offering that slop is not a compliment, it's an insult. Do us all a favor and burn this place to the ground. You can do better setting up tents and a campsite over its ashes and use the scraps to fire up roadkill which sounds more delighting than your so called breakfast. Thanks for the inquiry, but the real question is... what are you going to do about it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We completely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Due to your recent experience, you may not be confident with my response. Though I have failed to satisfy your expectations, we will continue to try our best to ensure a comfortable stay for all of our guests. As your dissatisfaction is a concern of mine, I would be happy to discuss your experience with us, in hopes of improving future guests experiences.