Ratings based on 1,087 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montgomery, AL

Around two miles to LSU.

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: The rooms I had were standard rooms with two beds. Both times, the rooms came with a full-size iron & ironing board, plenty of towels and toiletries.
Cons: The exterior could use some freshening up ie: painting around the stairs -- In the back more than the front.
Location: There are several restaurants within walking distance, LSU is within two miles, and the downtown area is an easy drive.
I have stayed two times in the last two months and found both times to be satisfactory. The rooms are so clean and inviting. I plan on staying here during my future trips in Baton Rouge and will recommend this location to others looking for a place to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Staff was rude. Check in time was 3pm but we were not able to check in until 9pm! Called guest services and was hung up on. Asked for a pod so we could make coffee and after 2 hours of waiting went to the store for coffee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest.I'm sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. Unfortunately when you arrived was at the height of the flooding in Baton Rouge and many of my staff could not get to work to clean our guestrooms in a timely manor. I will share your thoughts with my staff during tomorrows staff meeting. I hope we have another opportunity to serve your lodging needs. Yours in hospitality, Lanny F.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Worst hotel experience of my life.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Everything
Location: Near University they say.
This was the most disgusting, broken down, dirty, dingy, smelly hotel room I have ever experienced. La Quinta for me = Ultima Vez.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by Lanny F, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest. Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel. I have discussed your comments to each of my department heads and will take corrective action where needed. Thank you. Lanny F.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Katy, TX

Posted Jul 15, 2016
First room we got smelled like cigarette, linens were dirty and smelled line dirty sweat head.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Lanny F., Hotel Management
Dear valued guest. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I have shared your review with my housekeeping department and will make any changes necessary to avoid your issue in the future. Thank you again. Yours in hospitality, Laquinta management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from baton Rouge

Just right for a couple days

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Staff was friendly, let me check in 3 hours early
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Save your money....stay elsewhere.

Posted May 17, 2016 on Orbitz
Room smelled like a musty, old motel room. Mold on bathroom ceiling and bathroom door would not close due today swelling (possible previous flooding), hotel staff was useless, and housekeeping staff decided we didn't need fresh towels or the room to be made up on our last night of a three day stay. Horrible experience! Spend a little more and stay at a nicer place!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Low-Budget Motel- 1 nite stay for LSU Graduation

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Very old 70's dated facility. Motel by definition w/outside corridors.Parking on 1st come basis, thus you will not park near your room upon return. Outside metal stairs, no elevator-wore Knee brace. Room clean & neat. Beds comfortable. Air comfortable and required. Requested non-smoking (Asthmatic son). Room smokey but only other option was room to the back, lonely and scary area. In-room fridge smelly & w/packed ice X 6mths. Need serious cleaning. Toilet low as the tub (6 yr old needed no help)and ran continuously. Chose not to use shower but wait till we got home. Breakfast non-existence=no hot foods, no eggs or meat. No cereals. Fresh bread/waffles/bagels to toast using 3 toasters, packaged muffin, instant grits, coffee, OJ-apple juice & hot chocolate. Home counter space W/8 tables that seat 4. Guest hog the tables, others stand or return to their room. Pool ? wouldn't trust. Area not great. Many persons live there daily in the 1st front bldg. Back of bldg looks unsafe and alone. Not an ideal motel/hotel for ladies, single guest or anyone with young children. Owners are capitalizing on fact the facility is near LSU, but this place needs demolition. It cannot be repaired or updated.No amenities. Hotel next door no better. Only plus is they're at the I-10 ramps, but getting out the hotel into traffic is a nightmare.Use this place only if no other is available or it is a limited visit. Not a vacay place.Rates should never exceed $35-40/night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dear valued guest. Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience at my hotel. I'm sorry for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. I can assure you that your concerns are mine as well. We have taken steps with my maintenance department to address some of your issues. As to the people living here, all hotels have extended stay guests, for various reasons. Most of them are corporate contracted folks, and the rest are usually displaced individuals such as flooding, fire and the like. As to not enough table space, all public areas have a legal maximum number that can't be exceeded based on the square footage of the area. I'm sorry if you could not find a table, but as I'm sure you know LSU graduation fills up all hotels in the area so space is at a premium at this time of year. Thank you again for your review. Yours in hospitality, Lanny F, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kaplan, LA

Not a good choice

Posted May 15, 2016
Hotel is old and run down. Room was not clean. We found a beer cap and an empty water bottle on the floor by the beds. Shower head had only a few drops of water coming out of it. The room was very very hot. This hotel was not worth the 100 plus dollars we paid for it.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Lanny, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest. Thank you for your feedback. I can assure you that your concerns are my as well. I have read your review to all departments and will make any changes necessary to avoid the issues that you experienced. Again, thank you. Yours in hospitality, LaQuinta management.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nasty!!! Disgusting!! Worst experience ever!!!

Posted May 7, 2016 on Hotels
This is the worst hotel experience ever in my life. Arrived around 1 o'clock in the morning. Required an non-smoking room. Walked in the room. It literally smells like whole bunch of people just smoked in this room 5 minutes ago. Bed was never cleaned, hairs were everywhere on the bed. There was a left over take out box on the table. A take out cup filled with alcohol and some cigarette butts. Bathroom was dirty, toilet wasn't flashed, cigarette butts was in there also. The most ridiculous thing on the table was a used condom!!!!!!! This room was nasty!!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

run down nasty

Posted May 3, 2016 on Orbitz
Got to hotel and was assigned room was not cleaned. Was assigned other room. Bugs where flying by pillows. Toilet kept running. Shower was not cleaned well. Went to sleep and noice from parking lot was loud. Also group of kids ran knocked on the door and ran off. They did give us discount due to miss haps, but would not stay here again even with lower price. Spend little more to get sleep.