Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from alabama

Very bad experience

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The beds were comfortable
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: It's in a mostly retail area
We arrived and checked in at about 1045 pm and the room was in terrible condition. There was trash on the furniture and in the trash can and hair all over the bathroom. After calling the front desk we were promised another room which they didn't have so we had to wait 45 minutes while the manager cleaned the room herself. Totally unacceptable for any hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the condition of the room at check in. Those issues were addressed with housekeeping and make sure that never happens again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Last Resort to Crash at Midnight

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Cons: LOL.... not sure where to start...
Terrible... I went to LA for relief work in Lafayette and Baton Rouge. I had to pick up my colleagues at 8 pm from Baton Rouge and drive to New Orleans to our base. Their flight got delayed til 12:30 am. I thought we will stay the night in Baton Rouge. So I looked online and booked two rooms in this hotel only because there wasn't anything else available. I knew everything in that region is expensive nowadays but still after paying $175 or so for one room I was expecting some comfort in return. Nops... Both of our rooms had saggy mattresses and pillows, dirty linen/comforters, broken furniture and door. This is a $30 a night hotel but because of rush of people who lost their homes and relief workers, can charge crazy amounts. Breakfast was another sad story. The only food one could consume were bananas, apples and orange juice. While I was trying to decide if I should eat something or not, a hotel worker came with a zip lock bag in her hand with meat patties in it. It clearly looked like she took it out from refrigerator and put it in the microwave in front of me. I'm watching her thinking that she may be heating up her breakfast. When the time's up, she takes out the bag and empties it in the breakfast buffet. Those old patties were for us. So I decided to stick to bananas. Then another person came, he filled up his plate with patties, eggs and some other stuff, then smelled it, made a face and threw it in garbage saying, "I can't eat this s#&t."
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2016 by Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. All the issues will be addressed accordingly. Thank you again for your review and have a great day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Not much of anything. The bed was semi-comfortable.
Cons: The rooms are in much need of remodeling.
The staff was friendly when we checked in. The room condition was horrible. It smelled bad due to the carpet being wet from the air conditioning unit. I dropped something on the floor that went under the air conditioner. When that item was retrieved we found one used syringe and one unused syringe under the air conditioner. When we sat on the bed the bed shifted off of the bed frame. At that time we found another used syringe and a box of condoms. We threw away the ones that were under the air conditioner, but the items under the bed were not removed by us or housekeeping during our 2 night stay. Upon check out we were not asked how our stay was. I did tell the desk clerk about the items in the room and was only told, "Okay. Sorry." Was not offered any kind of sincere apology and no offer to reduce our rate. We only stayed in this hotel because no others were available at the time due to the flooding in the area. We were there to help family who had suffered a great loss due to historic flooding. We will NOT stay at this hotel again. We were very disappointed because we have stayed at other Mictrotel Hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2016 by Office Manager, Hotel Management
We sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. Housekeeping was made aware of your findings in the room. Because of you booked through a third we were not able to offer you any discounts. We are currently under renovations and would love for you visit us again once the renovations have been completed. Thank you for your review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge

Bad experience.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Bed sheets were soiled and hotel smelled of mold and smoke. Staff were ok . This is the first bad experience I have had at a Microtel Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Office Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize for any issues you had at the hotel. We are currently under renovations and will definitely fix those issues. We recently went fron smoking to non- smoking and working to get the smell out of the hotel. Thank you for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Everything was great besides the room service woman she didn't make up bed or clean room just brought towels in
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay and your review. We apologize for the inconvenience of not having your room completely cleaned. We will definitely look into the issue and speak with housekeeping concerning the matter.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from baton rouge

dirty, needs repair

Posted Aug 9, 2016
1st room dirty, carpet run down and torn. 2nd room had boards sticking out of bottom from unprofessional repairs and room was dirty with hairs in bed linen and tub Many repairs was needed in room. Housekeeping was extremely rude and unprofessional upon checking out. "You checking out or what?" Was yelled at the door after banging on door at 11am.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any issues you had during your stay and upon checking out the hotel. We are under renovations and will surely fix these issues. We will also speak with housekeeping.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Not as clean. Move Tia new because the first room did not smell well
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Office Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize for any inconvenience you may experienced during your stay. We are under renovations at this time and will definitely work to correct those issues you had during your stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misinformed by previous ratings

Posted Jul 30, 2016
I chose this hotel based on it's rating. The toilet didn't flush, the room was grungy and the staff were very rude. The side doors didn't open with the key and this was not explained at check-in. When I went to the desk to see if my card key was not working I was matter of factly told then that the keys weren't programmed for those doors. You would think they might mention that so guests don't have to walk around the building to the front to get back in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Office Management, Hotel Management
First, we would like to thank you for your stay. We sincerely apologize for the issues you had with your toilet. We will look into the maintenance issues and the rudeness of the staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from La

Convenient location cause we were headed to N.O.

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Shower was horrible . Paint was peeling off the floor . Shower cord had several leaks in it. No towels were available in the hotel, which should have been an embarrassment to the hotel. Paint was sprayed on the shower head and wall of the shower. No room in bathroom to put hair and teeth products while getting dressed!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2016 by Microtel Inn & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are very happy to know you thought highly of the staff, our staff works very hard to making every guest comfortable and happy during their stay. This property is in the process of doing many different upgrades and renovations. We hope to have you back to see all of our up coming changes!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lafayette, LA

1 Star at Most

Posted Jun 15, 2016
You definitely get what you pay for! Cleanliness of entire property from outside to inside was poor. Room was even worse. Couch stains resembled that of a crime scene. Bathroom was filthy with mold in all crevices of tub. Walking noise level from above floor was earth shattering and woke us up. Just overall poor experience and would never consider booking a Microtel in future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2016 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
We are so very sorry you were unhappy during your stay, we will work very hard to fix the issue you had experienced. Thank you very much for letting us know. This property is in the process of doing many different upgrades and renovations. We hope to have you back to see all of our up coming changes!