Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Location was very good. Close to Battle and Hastings. We visited Carr Taylor vineyard and it was a 20 minute walk from the hotel.
Very good evening meal. Breakfast was excellent. Room was on the small side and close to the front door. Staff were lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Lorraine, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the food and found the staff lovely. Kind regards Lorraine
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Disappointing for a country house hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2016
We had previously enjoyed the comforts of a king size room and therefore assumed that other rooms would also be of a good standard. We did not intend to spend much time in the hotel so we elected to purchase two economy rooms - this, I believe, was a big mistake. In my opinion the room that we stayed in was (understandably) small but satisfactory but the room that our friends stayed in was only really suitable for single occupancy. Their room (situated on the first floor over the entrance door to the property) had a corridor in the room which opened out onto a sleeping area which, I would estimate, was approximately 7 feet by 8 feet. In my opinion this is not enough room to satisfactorily accommodate a double bed (and certainly not two bed side tables) especially in a hotel that thinks of itself as being "5 star". In my opinion (based on our friends experience) the size of the room is likely to result in a serious loss of sleep because access to the bathroom is very restricted and because the bed was not flat (believe that the floor was not level).
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by Lorraine, Hotel Management
We are pleased that you found your Economy Double room satisfactory but disappointed that your friends found their Economy Double too small. Both rooms are advertised with a photo and room size and have the same 5* facilities, service and food as the guests in the King Size room. Yes, the Economy rooms are smaller but the price is cheaper. We have used a level in the room and found both the floor and bed to be perfectly flat. We are sorry that one negative aspect from your stay with us had such a profound effect. For other potential guests we would like you to equate booking our Economy room with an Economy airline seat and therefore you will have less space. However you will have our assurance that the only difference you will encounter will be the space your room and, unlike airline Economy, you will be treated in the same excellent way that those paying more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

A peaceful country retreat.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was excellent and well presented.
Location: From Bluemans Lane to the main road it was difficult to see oncoming traffic. We'd suggest trimming back the hedges and installing a mirror.
It was good. The grounds were well maintained. Nice bathroom. Friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by Lorraine, Hotel Management
Thank you we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the breakfast excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing wrong - just ok

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Nothing was wrong, everything was just ok. The highlight would have been the food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed the food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Low value for money

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
Overall rather disappointed by our 1 night stay given the price we paid. We were really looking forward to it given the reviews. The double bedroom was very small (barely the space to walk around the bed) and the bathroom only had a shower but no bath tub which is a pity for such a lovely location where people tend to be outdoory (and therefore would love to have a bath after a day walking). We noted that the walls are thin as we could hear the guys talking in the room next to us on the ground floor early in the morning... Now the room was clean and the furniture was in great condition and so was the bathroom. The bar is very authentic and classy with a view on the nice garden at the back. Wifi was low signal, no assigned wifi to the hotel. We had to leave early on sunday morning and the breakfast starting only at 8.30am we actually missed it - no review of that possible. When i mentioned our early departure to reception the night before the receptionist told me that we would have to settle the bill that night because there was noone at reception before 8.30am but never proposed to prepare a small takeaway breakfast for us...
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry if you were disappointed with your stay compared to the excellent reviews. You booked an Economy room which is described as having limited space and, having an en suite shower not a bath. The wall between this room and the Ground floor Suite is a solid outside brick wall so believe that the voices heard must have been from the hallway. We have 5 Wifi hubs around the hotel, all of which are free for guests, so we are also disappointed to read that you had difficulty accessing them. We are sorry that you missed breakfast as it is often a highlight of guests stay here. Had you have had the time to stay maybe your opinion of the price paid on a peak season Saturday night may have been more favorable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you. We are delighted you had a perfect stay.
5 out of 5
by Len

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you. We are delighted you had a perfect stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight on the 1066 Country Trail

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
A warm welcome to a real gem of a hotel. Lovely evening bar meal in the lounge and a delicious breakfast. Hope to come again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you. We are delighted you had a perfect stay and enjoyed the food. We look forward to seeing you again.
5 out of 5
by DAVID from lancashire

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
what a nice place to stay. The midweek menu was small but the food was very good which made up for that could say a bad thing about the place, would stay at this hotel again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had a positive experience and enjoyed the food. and hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from k

Nice, peaceful hotel 30 min drive from Rye beach

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Staff was very friendly, food was delicious, hotel was cozy and nice. Our double room was extremely small, however very clean. As we stayed only 1 night, this was ok for us, but if you are staying for longer, my advise would be take a bigger room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by Lorraine, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.