Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely ambience let down by poor maintenance

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
This place could have been so much more. The ambience by the lake front is fantastic. The staff are lovely and helpful. But even they couldn't compensate for the run down nature of the place. The villa I was assigned was huge, 130 sq m or so, with a full kitchen, dining room for 6, giant day bed in the lounge and a set of sliding doors leading to a lawn with gorgeous views of the lake and a staircase to the jetty. But one of the doors was stuck. The deck chairs were without cushions (all piled up in a corner) the day bed was not fresh and the tableux above it was old, dusty and broken. The bedroom was huge as well with a day bed near the window, which would have been nice if they had bothered to put a sheet on it, rather than leave me a mouldy mattress. The bathroom was enormous, almost too big to be comfortable in. The water was variable and hot until my last morning when the heater broke down and I had to have a cold shower before checking out. Remember that we are at altitude and cold meant cold! The towels were frayed from overuse and under replacement. The mugs were cracked and chipped. The lights were blown and a bulb had to be cannibalised from the (also giant) wardrobe to give me a reading light. I only had breakfast at the spacious restaurant. The service was cheerful and the food was good. Some maintenance and freshening up of the place would make oh such a difference. It was a relatively inexpensive stay and now I understood why. It can't command more as it is.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in Villa Puri Candikuning. Your experience is one of great concern to us and we deeply regret that the aspects of our service and product did not reflect the quality we strive for. We sincerely apologize for all that transpired during the course of your stay. We will be sure to address these shortcomings with the respective team concerned. The hotel is actually in the midst of reviewing all the rooms. Nevertheless rest assured we will continue to look into areas for improvement to ensure the stay will be a comfortable one. Please be so kind to contact us, should there be any other concerns that you may want to share with me personally, so that we can ensure your future stays with us are memorable. Thank you again for your time and valuable feedback, we hope to welcome you back again in the near future! Sincerely yours, Dewa Bagiarta Operation Manager Villa Puri Candikuning
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Big villa in beautiful setting

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Pros: Staff very friendly and helpful. Acted very professional too. You definitely feel appreciated as the guest.
Location: Rural location. Great area for relaxing. Temple and village within biking distance from hotel
Stayed for 2 nights. Staff, food, grounds and villa beautiful. We stayed in the 1 bedroom villa.... very large with LOTS of space for two people. Bathroom beautiful with amount of space and view. Two large decks to use off our villa. Breakfast was good and meals in restaurant satisfying as well. Bikes available to use to ride into town or the temple. Only downside... at night weird noises. I know we were in a villa in a rural location - noises could have been bugs, birds, or possibly mice. Either way kinda creeped my husband and I out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful place

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
My husband and I loved our stay here! The room was gigantic. My favorite part was the jacuzzi bath tub with a view of the lake. Stay at this hotel to relax in peace. There is interesting sites to see in the area. This spot is less tourist heavy than beach or Ubud which was a nice change. The hotel staff helped us with everything. We are at the hotel restaurant every day. The only negative was that the wifi in our rooms was super weak.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel by Bratan Lake

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Cons: Breakfast.
Location: Pura Ulun is the one you can see in Indonesia's 50,000 rupiahs money. Can play with boats.
I booked a suite room in this hotel. Got there after sunset and turned out that the room was very huge. It had kitchen and bathroom with a nice jacuzzi. We woke up in the morning to see the sunrise, and after having breakfast took a boat (provided by the hotel) to nearby Pura Ulun Temple. This hotel has a very limited room, so they do not provide breakfast buffet. The choice is between Indonesian and American breakfast. Considering the price, it wouldn't harm them to give both. But that's ok. Lake Bratan was cold so I didn't think to swim. But the have a very nice swimming pool, where you can see the lake. Belgian family next to our room had stayed almost a week and went trekking every day (small children).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tolle Lage, teilweise (sehr) renovierungsbedürftig

Posted Nov 6, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: S.o.
Cons: S.o.
Wir haben 7 Nächte in der Nebensaison, d.h. Ende Oktober/Anfang November hier verbracht, davon 3 Tage vor Ort, die andere Zeit waren wir tagsüber unterwegs. Vorzüge unseres Erachtens: - Tolle Lage direkt am See, gerade früh morgens, wenn die Wasseroberfläche fast glatt ist, ergibt kurz nach Sonnenaufgang ein magisches Bild - Großzügige und geschmackvolle Zimmereinrichtung - Sehr nettes und zuvorkommenden Servicepersonal Woran gearbeitet werden sollte: - Deutlicher Renovierungsstau; macht sich mal mehr, mal weniger bemerkbar. Insondere blättert an einigen Stellen extrem die Farbe ab. Massageliegen sehen übel aus. Sanitäre Einrichtungen im Poolbereich grenzwertig. - Wasser fiel zweimal aus - Heißwasser dauert "ewig" / 5 Minuten für Dusche = Wasserverschwendung - Täglicher Handtuchtausch, obwohl nicht notwendig gemäß selbstverschriebenem "Save our Planet" Anspruch
5 out of 5
by Jean Bernard

Un style colonial

Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
L'établissement a un certain charme mais un tres sérieux rafraichissement est nécessaire ! L'humidité est très présente ! À deux pas du temple . Pratique pour la visite ! Personnel très gentil
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sehr angenehmes Hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
nur ein paar Minuten entfernt vom Tempel Pura Ulun Danu Beratan. Sehr grosszügige Zimmer mit schönen und geräumigen Badezimmer (jedoch teilweise im Freien). Schöner Pool mit tollem Ausblick auf den Bratan See. Sehr freundlicher Manager, welcher kostenlose Fahrräder und auch einen Shuttel zum Tempel anbot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Un hôtel charmant et isolé avec une vue sublime!

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: Un hôtel suranné mais charmant. Les jardins, les vues des chambres et de la piscine sont superbes. Le staff est trés accueillant.
Cons: Aération des chambres (humidité) Isolation des chambres.
Location: Marché de Candikuning. Saison des fraises (producteurs principaux de Bali) Lac Bratan et Ulun Bratan temple
Un hôtel suranné mais charmant. Les jardins, les vues des chambres et de la piscine sont superbes. Le staff est trés accueillant. Les chambres sont superbement aménagées (style colonial). Bref trés romantique! Le seul petit hic: il fait froid et les chambres devraient être aérées (odeur d’humidité)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

멋진뷰, 습한실내

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
위치나 전경은 매우 훌룽하지만 실내에 습기가 높아쾌적하진 않습니다. 그나마 자쿠지가 있어 피로를 풀어주긴하지만 온도조절장치가 없어 습한기운을 잡아주진 못합니다.
1 out of 5
by Jeannette

Ein Albtraum von Hotel!

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
Es gleicht einem Alptraum dort. Wir sind gleich nach der Ankunft abgereist. Das Hotel wirkt verlassen und verwahrlost, der Pool dreckig und gesundheitsgefährdend. Der Zustieg zum See lebensgefährlich. Die Einzimmervilla, abgestandene Luft. Verkommenes Mobilar. Kurzum ein echter Horror dort! Danke an Hotels.com, sie haben sich umgehend darum gekümmert das wir unser Geld zurück bekommen! Ein ganz grosses Lob!