Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

500 feet from the beach, the staff was wonderful!

Posted May 4, 2016
Location: 5oo feet from the beach, food is a 30 second drive
They owner is wonderful, its like staying at your own home and next to the beach! Dog friendly and very comfy!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too Cold

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Pros: looks nice from the outside.
Cons: up-dating and staff more organized.
Even though there were 2 space heaters in our room it never was warm. But the hallways and restaurant were even worse , just freezing! Then the complementary breakfast wasn't ready until around 9, I couldn't even get a cup of tea before that. It was very unorganized.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what it use to be.

Posted Nov 28, 2015
New owners need to invest more in the property as far as paint, window treatments and misc repairs. Room was suppose to have a comp breakfast. Staff didn't appear until 9am and coffee plus misc at 9:30. Not good for early risers. There's always Muellers bakery thank goodness. Has great potential with right staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burlington NJ

The start of r Haunted weekend

Posted Oct 27, 2015
We had a good time .We just needed to get away although we did'nt see or hear any ghost we still had a good time looking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: Personnal war nett; die können nichts wegen Zustand des Hotels
Cons: ALLES!!!!
Location: Bay Head: super Strand Ort.
Essen war nicht gut. Nudeln sah unapetitlich nach Würmer, Artichoken Gericht war sauer, Creme Brulee war nicht durch gekocht und halb kalt. Zimmer: die Fenster hat nicht ganz geshlossen und der Wind pfeift durch. In ein andere Zimmer ging das Fernseher nicht und in noch ein Zimmer war der Heizung so laut das man kaum schlafen konnte. Morgens war das Frühstück: fertige einzel Pakete von Oatmeal, alles überhaupt nicht liebevoll. Preisverhältniss null. Ich kenne diese Ort und der Hotel von aussen seit meine Kindheit. Bay Head immer wieder, Grenville nur wenn kräftig investiert oder ein sehr günstigen Preis!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

Beautiful but very tired hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Location, architecture of the building.
Cons: The positive spin on this hotel is that it could be considered "shabby chic". However, there was too much shabby for my taste.
Location: Bay Head beach, a lake, shopping, walking.
The architecture of this grand old home is stunning from the outside but it needs considerable TLC on the inside. While my bedroom had recently been painted the wood trim all over the hotel was dirty and needed repainting. The ceiling on my floor was old fashioned ceiling tile which in many places was discolored and falling down. Woodwork in the public areas needed repainting, some bedroom furnishings were incomplete. For the price paid, a fully cooked breakfast should have been included, not just a continental breakfast. We were given beach towels with holes and stains which was indicative of our entire perception. This hotel could be gorgeous if some appropriate renovations and redecoration were done. However it appears that what has been done is just enough to be functional.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Hotel in need of renovation & upgrades.

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Need to update & hire a interior designer.
Location: Location is great!! Right by the beach.
A b&b should be a warm and charming environment. The Grenville is located in beautiful Bay Head NJ & it should reflect the beauty of it's surrounding, the beach. Instead the room looked like a dorm room. Also the hallway outside the lobby & restaurant was always stacked with boxes of supplies. (Had to walk through to get to elevator). Also landscaping was a mess!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Very accommodating . Staff was great!!!!

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Close to the beach and boardwalk but far enough away to have a relaxing weekend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Dirty Stinky Shabby

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Needs a total renovation with good taste. Our room was supposedly "new" but we heard furniture came from old Marriotts. Everything smelled like old pyjamas and was dirty and worn out. Junk and trash everywhere. Dead bugs in the room. Windows so dirty they were opaque. Breakfast was inedible. Despite its filth and neglect, rate was as high as a very good hotel. We will never return and strongly advise others to avoid.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2015
I stayed for three days and it was pleasant stay. The staff were very polite and the hotel was very quiet