Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KY

Perfect place to stay

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Location is everything and this hotel has it.
Large spacious room, huge bathroom with spa tub, very clean and new.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Close to beach and town centre. Bit of road noise .Walls seemed thin but we did have noisy neighbours.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

Nice view, but I felt milked for every dime.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Every positive aspect about the room was negated by the negative experience with the receptionist. First of all, I travel a lot. Nearly every weekend I'm in a different country, and as such have a lot of experience with various hotels. When I booked the rooms in this hotel a member of my group cancelled a week before the trip, and I wasn't allowed a refund for the room. I understood, but felt it was a bit odd considering the advanced notice. Then when I actually showed up, I was in awe of the beauty The Bay of Island held, and booked a boat tour for the next morning (highly recommended). Before the tour I asked if I should check out before or after, to which the receptionist showed a degree of indifference, so I left my stuff in the room and went on the tour with the intentions of checking out after. I returned to that same individual harassing me with a condescending tone. Apparently a couple booked the same room I was using, arrived early and she had to upgrade them because it wasn't ready. She then forced every member of my group to pay for an extra night, insulted my intelligence, and blatently lied about our earlier conversation regarding check out. The members of my group, and I were genuinely upset with how we were treated. It ruined the drive that followed, which is something I would have otherwise enjoyed. The view was great here, but every other hotel is equally impressive in that regard. The Bay of Islands is magical, I just wish she hasn't ruined the experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
As you are well travelled you would be fully versed with terms and conditions and check out times. Your non-refundable group booking was initially for 4 rooms for 8 people which after the free cancellation period became 2 rooms at this time we waived the cancellation fee then on arrival your booking became 2 people wanting to share 1 room. You had asked what time check out was and were advised 10.00am you failed to check out and went on a cruise arriving back at 2.30p.m as the room was unable to be let that day a late departure fee was charged and your friend agreed to pay this no force was required. We realise you were disappointed with the extra costs incurred by the rest of your group not travelling with you, and for your misunderstanding of the departure time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Near the beach and shops.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Very comfy bed.
Cons: Described above.
Stay was very pleasant except for a few things. Room looked clean but was very smelly. And the bathroom door doesn't shut. It is a sliding door and there is a large gap. Our daughter stayed in a different room and hers was the same. Spa was very small. Lots of nice little touches though. :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Always a great stay!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
This was our second time staying here, what more can we say this is our home away from home and we love it here. Our room was as true as the pictures & the beds will make you sleep like a baby. Thank you for having us again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicely greeted even though we were late arriving.

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Ease of booking and very convenient to local attractions. Staff was very friendly.
Cons: Noisy refrigerator.
Location: Excellent opportunities to take advantage of many local attractions.
Pleasant staff and very nice environment. Nice location that is handy to many things.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very helpful proprietor and staff

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Fabulous cooked breakfast included in the price. And biscuits with the tea and coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great location, across the road from the beach.

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Excellent location, good laundry facilities, attractive pool area, spotlessly clean, well set-up kitchen, great shower.
Cons: Unfortunately, our bed was very uncomfortable—overly soft, especially at the edges. The door to the bathroom couldn't be closed properly.
Location: —Walk to Waitangi (about 5km—don't believe signs that say '500m' or brochures that claim it's a 15-minute walk) —Take the ferry to Russell for lunch
This motel is perfectly positioned as it is on the main road, but at the quiet end of the street. There is a great restaurant just next door (Alfresco's), and shops such as mini-mart and liquor store just a couple of minutes' walk away. The owners & staff are friendly and attentive. On check-out, we needed a taxi to the bus, as it was raining heavily, and a staff member rang but the taxi service wasn't answering. So she happily gave us a lift down the road in her own car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Pros: Good location, good size rooms.
Cons: Could do with a proper heating extracter fan in bathroom.
Location: Easy walk to ferry, shops and restaurants.
Great size room, lovely bed and huge bathroom. Easy walk to wharf and eateries, nice view over to Russell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Lovely time in The Bay of Islands, the boat cruise is a must.