Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: It seems likes it's in the middle of nowhere,but it's super close to the main street. All the rooms have a theme, based on the elements - quirky & fun
Location: There was a circus in town. You can catch a ferry to nearby Russell for a day trip. Plenty of good eateries. A great walking town. Beautiful beaches.
I stayed one night for a work trip. I had to wait a little while for check in, as there was no one at reception, but I was welcomed by the super cute black lab in residence while I waited. My room was very clean and comfortable - a little chilly, but there was a heater, electric blanket and spare blanket in the cupboard, so I ended up being very cosy. It was a lovely quiet spot, perfect to relax in after a long day. The grounds are beautiful too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful, peaceful location

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: The setting and the private cottage
Cons: Perhaps ceiling fans would be helpful on hot days.
Location: There are shops and markets. We also visited the Stone Store, Rainbow Falls and the Art Garden.
We had a one bedroom cottage which was beautifully decorated and very well equipped. The view from our balcony was a lush tropical landscape. Our host was very helpful and was anxious to make sure we had everything we needed. I would definitely recommend the Avalon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Peaceful Beauty

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Amazing surroundings, quiet, clean and very comfortable. Our fortunate stay included a surprise live duck visit, looking in through the sliding glass door as if it wanted to be invited inside. It made for great pictures and was a lot of fun. Anthony, at the reception desk was courteous, friendly and helpful. This was a last minute online booking while my husband and I have been traveling throughout NZ on an independent road trip.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Our room was disappointing

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The grounds are lovely
Cons: See main review.
The grounds of this hotel are lovely as described on the website. The studio apartment we had attached to the reception was adequate size and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately there was one major deficiency and a couple of minor annoyances. The main door was a slider with no screen so it had to be kept closed to keep bugs out. Two of the windows had screens but could not be fully opened, so the room had no cross breeze and become hot and unpleasant. An air conditioner would remedy this problem. A minor annoyance was the shower: the shower head could not easily be stabilized, and there was no dish or shelf to place soap, shampoo, conditioner.. so it had to go on the floor. Showering thus involved a lot of bending down. The ownser should install a shelf or soap dish. There is a beautiful public deck overlooking the swimming pool. There are two lounge chairs. The teak one is broken so if you sit on it the angle is very uncomfortable..also because of the low angle it is not easy to get in and out of. Obviously it should be replaced. I don't like writing negative reviews. Maybe the other rooms are better.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by stephanie

Relaxing place to stay, great location

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely place with beautiful setting. Can't help but feel relaxed here! Lovely owners and great location. Close to shops etc.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice and clean cottage

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff, very nice cottage comfortable for family of four
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recommened Relax Resort

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
The owner of Avalon Resort is very friendly and helpful. The layout of this resort is lovely with the ponds and friendly ducks coming for a visit. Very relaxing place to stay for a few days. Close to Kerikeri township and shopping.