Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nz

Loved it

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Wotif
Definitely come back perfect 10/10 lovely staff, views amazing right by water, great facilities, very clean, loved the spa that sealed the deal.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spotless, close to beach, quiet and private

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Clean, private, very friendly
Cons: It was great
Fabulous holiday spot, very well run accommodation, couldn't fault it
5 out of 5
by Michael from Melbourne Australia

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
Our hosts were exceptionly knowledgable and very helpful. We both enjoyed our stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Very pleasing discovery

Posted May 9, 2016 on Wotif
Cons: Update the web site.
Location: Couldn't be better. Restaurants all within walking distance and plenty to see or just relax and enjoy.
Started out a bit shaky but by the end we were more than impressed with John & Rohna and how they strive to please. No hesitation in recommending the resort.
5 out of 5
by Samantha from Auckland

Perfect getaway!!!

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
John and his family were lovely. So helpful! We had the best Easter weekend! Perfect location right at the edge of the water and so close to the wharf where the ferry's come in.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: Very close to attractions.
The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable, they recommended a number of things to see and do in the area. The apartment included everything we needed. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wow - Wow - WOW!

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
Take the ferry to save yourself a horrendous one hour drive. The ferry is quick and fun. You will then drive 10 - 15 minutes arriving at Hananui Lodge and be oh so happy. Owner John greeted us and provided excellent information about the area. Russell has a lot of history. The Lodge is located on the water’s edge. Our room looked over the pier and waterfront. We enjoyed sitting on our deck watching boat traffic. The room was well maintained, spotless and nicely decorated. The owners are constantly on the move cleaning. This was our last stop after a month in New Zealand - could not have selected a better place to stay. Hope we can return - soon! Room tip: Ask for a room on the top floor preferably on the end away from the staircase and laundry room to reduce foot traffic noise. The walls are not concrete so some room noise can be heard. Our first night we could hear some ambient TV sound but it wasn't bad. The second night we had a family with a screaming baby throughout the night. They started walking the child outside at 5 AM. At 7:30 AM they headed out in the car. This really isn't a small child location/accommodation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2016 on Hotels
John, the owner/manager(?) was a wealth of information and the best "concierge" of our trip. Friendly, helpful and offered lots of information. Would've been perfect if they had air conditioning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Pros: everything
Location: perfect location
The owners are super nice, they helped us a lot! its a very nice place to go!