Ratings based on 335 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland Australia

Good hotel in a central location

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Pros: Close proximity to everything
Cons: Nothing identified
Location: I was picked up from the hotel for my day tour however the wharf is within walking distance of the hotel also.
Nice hotel with friendly staff, and walking distance to food outlets and the wharf where most tours leave from.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland

Excellent hotel

Posted May 2, 2017
Excellent hotel close to all amenities. Love this hotel this was our third stay there.
4 out of 5
by RichClarke from Auckland

2 Days in the Bays

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is in a great location overlooking the Bay was a good base for exploring the bay of island area. Onsite laundry was very useful for washing and drying wet clothes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tauranga, New Zealand

This hotel was really good.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and very willing to help if needed, clean and tidy hotel. Ground kept nice.The staff on the front desk were also very kind and helpful
Cons: Quieter doors. You could hear doors closing during day and night, Might be strong springs/heavy doors? More internet time. (only 30 mins a day).
Location: Location really good and near the ferry service to Russell and trips out to the hole in the rock etc. Near shops and cafes etc.
The Kingsgate is right on the front of Paihia and just across the road from the ferry and booking facilities. We were able to book up for tours and be picked up from the hotel for the trips. The pool was clean although we did not use this. But a covered area for reading or just passing the time of day was lovely. The car park was easy to use and plenty of room. Clean soft towels changed daily, and although I made the bed it was remade to their standards. Reasonable rates too which surprised me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kaitaia

Perfect location

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Wotif
As usual, clean, comfortable and in an excellent location. Breakfast was great. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The new block (400+rooms) very nice & clean.

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Wotif
Just an overnight stay. Have stayed here before. Well situated. Breakfast tasty and fulling. Will stay again & recommend.
5 out of 5
by Stephen j

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely worth considering

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Clean, comfortable & within easy reach of restaurants & shops. Pleasant friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by Sarah

Business trip

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Tidy and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bay of Islands revisited

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Lastminute
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Paihia. Hotel was just what we wanted, very close to all the amenities and very comfortable. Good value for money.