Ratings based on 7 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn

Paradise Found

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Our best hotel experience in New Zealand. It's all about the details and Moongate delivers. Chocolate, flowers, concierge service, made to order breakfast and a perfectly appointed room and garden. Well done!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2016 by Lionel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. All the best.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Simply amazing

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Pros: Everything from the homemade breakfast each morning to the quiet tranquility that the villa had to offer.
Cons: Nothing, everything was perfect!
Location: Plenty of great places to eat, hiking, wineries, etc.
Wow, what a pleasant surprise upon arrival. The hosts, Lionel and Rob, were gracious, knowledgeable about the area, helpful in making suggestions for traveling/dinner/sightseeing/etc. The villa is absolutely gorgeous and the grounds are stunning. Although it rained for most of our stay in Kerikeri, we couldn't have had a better time. It was a great place to relax and unwind during our trip. It was obvious that our hosts LOVE what they do. We felt so welcomed and really hated to leave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2016 by Lionel, Hotel Management
Kia Ora MJB Thank you for your wonderful review. Hope to you see you back one day. All the best
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The most memorable stay of our trip!

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Lionel makes the stay at Mmon Gate extra special.
Cons: Our stay here was perfect.
Location: Visit rainbow falls and the stone store whilst in Kerikeri. Lionel happily arranged a cruise for us to the hole in the rock which leaves from Paihia.
We loved our recent stay in Moon Gate Villa. I stayed with my two adult daughters and this worked out very well. The villa and rooms are beautiful and the grounds and setting are amazing, but what made our stay so very special was the way Lionel looked after us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by Lionel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your reveiw. Kia Ora
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Mesa, California

Amazing tropical paradise!

Posted Nov 23, 2014
We stayed in the Cottage and it was so cozy and comfortable, with a sofa to watch tv. The Cottage comes with a continental breakfast with yoghurt, toast, cheese and meats. If you stay in the Main House, you get a hot breakfast. The Main House has amazing architecture: especially the front door, indoor waterfall & curved glass wall! Beautiful gardens, pool and lawns. The hosts, Lionel and Rob were very helpful with suggestions on where to eat and places to see. We wished we could have stayed longer!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by Lionel, Hotel Management
Kia Ora Jenny and Bob and thank you for taking the time to write us a great reveiw. We are glad you both enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you this way again. Cheers
5 out of 5
by Tricia from Cincinnati, OH

Posted Dec 31, 2013
We stayed in the cottage and I really loved it. The area is so beautiful and the grounds of the Villa were full of flowers. The cottage had a nice little kitchen which was very helpful and there are a couple grocery stores near by if you want to prepare your own food. Bed was very comfortable and had premium linens. They had a little DVD library that you can borrow from, which was nice and relaxing way to end the day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by Lionel, Hotel Management
Kia Ora Tricia and thank you for taking the time to write us a fantastic review. We look forward to your next visit one day. warmest regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This was the best

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Bay of island
If you are in the area do not miss this It is the best you will find Go for theCottage in the garden You will want to stay for ever
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by Lionel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review we appreciate it. Kia Ora
5 out of 5
by Wilma from Australia

Highly recommended

Posted Jan 16, 2013
Pros: Attention to detail. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners.
Location: Quiet. Slightly out of town but that was my choice. Need a car to explore the area.
Could not fault it. Attention to detail was oustanding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by Lionel, Hotel Management
Kia Ora Wilma and thank you for your wonderful review. warmest regards.