Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

Overpriced for what you get

Posted Dec 21, 2015
For the price it wasn't what I expected the beds weren't that comfortable the shower was crap the lady was grumpy and I won't use this motel again it served our purpose but is only worth $130 not $190 a night best thing was full size fridge room was clean and roomy pool was nice would look at other options if we went back to Russel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
Really nice place to stay. Only downside was no Sky TV but not really an issue. Wifi also kept cutting out, had to move around the room. Otherwise very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice & cosy

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Wotif
Had BBQ in nice pool area, comfy bed. Only wanted bed for the night and for what we paid was well worth it. Excellent for the rate, close to town, pool & BBQ A OK
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Close to main centre

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Location: We were in Russell for the Birdman Comp 2015, so was only a walk away, convenient for our needs.
Lovely place, nice and quiet, we took our 3 children, but it was a relaxing weekend. Owners were quick and maybe sure we were settled. Nice clean units, will be recommending to friends & family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland

Nice hotel close to the wharf.

Posted May 4, 2015 on Wotif
We enjoyed our stay at Motel Russell. Staff is so friendly and nice. Great service. Motel is so closed to the wharf and shops. Just 5 minutes walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Curtains

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Cons: Found it disconcerting getting changed in front of bare ranch slider doors with no curtains! The alternative was to close the heavy drapes.
Enjoyed our stay. Russell so much quieter than staying a Paihia - and cheaper.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Great location on edge of Russell

Posted Mar 23, 2015
We booked for 2 nights and stayed 4 as we had such a good time. The rooms are very comfortable and the owners so helpful. Very well located for Russell and surrounding area. The pool was a great way to cool down!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good Motel

Posted Mar 4, 2015 on Hotels
It was a good experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by thomas from Canads

Good location

Posted Mar 3, 2015 on Hotels
Good location very helpful owner
5 out of 5
by David from New Zealand - Hawkes Bay

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Friendly and helpful and close to restaurants etc
Value: Affordable; Easy walking distance to everything in Russell