Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Very nice room. Spa was completely booked during our stay though :(
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by PBR, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback. We are happy you enjoyed the room but we do advise guests to book the spa in advance due to it being busy however we do priorities in house guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future Kind regards Paihia Beach Resort and Spa
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

This not five star hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: bed are comfortable
Cons: Service, Elevator, Time to check out.
Location: ok location but other hotel are better.
Elevator was broken. This is not attached with beach. You have to check out by 10.30 AM. You have to come in room by 9pm. My opinion this should be 2 star. I would not stay at all. Thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by PBR, Hotel Management
Dear Rick, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. The Elevator was broken and it was something we were trying to get fixed but unfortunately due to the holiday season it was not so easy. We did ensure we had extra porters working to carry all guests luggage to the rooms. With regard to the location we are 5-7 mins walk to town and there are other hotels closer however one of the main reason people book with us is due to our location as we are not directly in town and it is a little quieter for people who stay with us. We are not attached to the beach but we are across from it. 10:30am is our check out time but guests can request for a later check out but it is not guaranteed. We do offer to store guest’s luggage and they are welcome to use the facilities if they are not leaving until later time in the day and we can arrange guests to use the changing rooms and shower facilities in the spa as well. You do not have to be in your room at 9pm. Reception hours are from 7am to 9pm. After those times guest can access the resort with their key cards and we also have night security from 9pm to 7am in case any guests need anything. Kind regards Paihia Beach Resort and Spa
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Paihia resort exceeded our expectations. Staff was outstanding. Restaurant was exceptional
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, Thank you for taking the time to in reviewing your stay with us. We are happy to hear that the resort exceeded your expectations and the staff were outstanding and the restaurant was exceptional. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Paihia Beach Resort and Spa
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Great, relaxing, luxurious stay

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
From check-in to check-out we had a marvelous time. The spa was wonderful, the room lovely (with a great view), and the restaurant was extraordinary - best meal in New Zealand!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, thank you for taking the time to write this review, it's fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much! Thank you for your kind words. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pasadena ca

small hotel in a nice part of town

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: small, nice restaurant, heated hot spas, view of the bay. quiet
Cons: More breakfast selection for restaurant
Location: around the hill from the busy town there are tons of excursions and tours
A nice town with plenty to do. It was a short walk to the pier and enjoyed it all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2016 by Paihia Beach Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Thanks Steve for your lovely review! We hope to welcome you back to the Resort again soon.
5 out of 5
by Alex

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a star rating for your recent stay! We hope you'll think of us for your next trip to the Bay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice boutique hotel.

Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is very nice and just across the street is a playground if you have small children. The best part of this hotel was the restaurant. Great food and service. It is small so it's a good idea to make reservations.
4 out of 5
by Mark from Singapore

Great hotel close in a relaxing area

Posted Feb 13, 2016 on Hotels
Good location close to ferry and sightseeing boats. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Excellent location and views right on water

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Pros: Location and views on the water. Excellent and comfortable rooms. Excellent restaurant at hotel.
Cons: Reception desk should have someone there to help at all times. Very inconvenient to not have this. Have to walk a bit to get to main wharf.
Location: Right across street from ocean and path. 10 minute walk to wharf. Can take many boat/day trips from there.
First, the view from my hotel room was amazing - overlooking the ocean and bay of islands. The room itself was very comfy and pretty, with an excellent shower as well. The restaurant at the hotel is fabulous - I definitely recommend it. The dishes are very good. I didn't get a chance to try the spa, but I wish I had been able to. The location is about a 10 minute walk (up and down a hill, but with a good sidewalk) to get to the main area and wharf. The hotel staff was very nice, but they were often not at the desk, which was a little inconvenient. I was in a rush to check out, and they had left a sign up at reception saying "back in 5 minutes". Not useful when you are in a rush to leave. The other negative would be that you have to cross a road to get to the path/beach, and that road is a bit busy and annoying to cross, but not too bad overall. There should be better pedestrian crossings available, but that's a city problem, not a hotel problem.
4 out of 5
by joanna

Posted Jan 16, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely relaxed stay with a great restaurant on site!