Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queensland

Nice

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Owner, was clean overall
Cons: Better heating and stains on bed spread.Flannels.Shampoo.
Location: Walk into town to shops and wharf
Quite a walk to beach location, cold room, heater wasn't sufficient enoughto heat room. Nearly take head off in parking area with the way the staircase is positioned for parking. Facilities were good. nice stains on bed spread, YUK !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice big rooms

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable, lots of space.
Cons: Thin walls meant we could hear neighbours going to bed.
Location: You can't come to Paihia without going out sailing, we recommend Barefoot Sailing Adventures - run by a couple on who are passionate about sailing
Well kept hotel. Barbara, the manager is always around if you need anything. Large rooms with comfy bed and very clean. Hotel is a short walk out of town up a hill but we liked the walk after dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Calm and nice hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: - cleanliness - hotel manager Barbara - Darts in the backyard
Cons: - limited WiFi
Very nice stay for 2 nights. The apartment was very big and the bathroom was very clean and new. Absolutely loved the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Barbara, Hotel Management
Wifi is not limited
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

This motel lives up to green credential

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: the environmental measures, location, quiet, view
Cons: nothing
Location: The motel is on the way into Paihia. A great spot to plan to visit Waitangi, Russell and the surrounding region.
Great location with view out to the west. The hotel manager was very informative and alerted us to thew newly opened Waitangi Museum that we would not have known prior to visiting Waitangi. She was very encouraging and informative about local arts and cultural opportunities to experiences. Loved the encouragement to be green and sustainable for visitors and felt like this motel was doing more than lip-service to clean/green image. This was the only motel experience like it during our stay in 15 days.
5 out of 5
by Ivy from Brisbane

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
Good location and services! Very friendly and helpful manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Nice place, close to everything.

Posted Feb 27, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: It was just a stones throw away from the main town center of Paihia. So we could enjoy what was on offer but get away from it all as well.
Location: Plenty of variety in boat trips within the Bay of Islands, Russell a small historic township nearby, Waitangi Treaty Grounds , Haruru Falls...
We enjoyed our stay. The weather wasn't the best so we used this time to relax and recoup having just spent 2 weeks driving around Tasmania. Barbara was able to accommodate us for an extra night and was knowledgeable about things to do in the area, shopping facilities etc. We had a partial view to the bay from a small front balcony. Kitchen facilities were good and the place neat and clean. We had a lounge room area with comfortable seating, a bedroom, small kitchen and shower and toilet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whangarei

Great overnight stop

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: Clean, parking was good, nice room.
Thank you to the lovely owner for making this last minute request easy. Was very nice, clean and pleasant room.
4 out of 5
by Neil from Victoria Australia

certainly a pearl

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
The room was spacious, spotless and everything needed for an enjoyable stay. The view was lovely from the shared balcony, It was very warm, no airconditioning or overhead fans, just windows with no fly screens, so lots of mosquitoes, The manager Barbara was lovely and went out of her way to make sure our stay was enjoyable. We certainly would go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Comfortable and homely accom close to paihia

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Had everything we needed
Cons: A fan for those humid nights!
Location: Beach within walking distance
Just what we needed for a quick weekend away fishing, comfortable and homely with nice additions such as bbq facilities and dvd library, very relaxed, spacious and quiet settings. Extremely helpful and 10/10 service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2016 by Manager Pearl of the Bay, Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for your positive review. I am sorry that you did not realise that we do provide fans, and didn't ask me. Normally, they are not needed. Best wishes. Barbara
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Poor location - you need to drive to get to the centre of town
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2016 by Manager Pearl of the Bay, Hotel Management
Hi we are less than 2 minutes to drive to the centre of town. Our location, is not poor, we have great views and we are a quiet property, because we are 2 minutes to the city centre. I find it disconcerting that was your only comment - and really there is nothing we can do about where we are. I suggest you research your choices in future.