Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice motel close to the town centre and beach

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Very nice and friendly staff, had a great time here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Nice hotel close to town centre

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Owner Maureen was excellent. She certainly made you feel welcome and went out of her way to help us explore the Bay of Islands. She made dinner reservations for us at the Duke on Russell Island and for a couple other adventure trips. Had it been really hot, AC would have been nice but we did not need it with patio door open. Wonderful way to end our 6 weeks in NZ!
5 out of 5
by Damon from Orlando, Florida. USA

Great experience

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend the Swiss Chalet Lodge. The room was spacious, well furnished and the owners were fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice surprise

Posted Dec 20, 2016
I was originally booked to another hotel who backed out at least minute. It turned out to be a pleasant surprise as the experience was awesome. The rooms were modern, clean, spacious and inclusive of all amenities. Service was excellent. Location was a walk to the wharf/town centre. I gladly recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SG

Large rooms

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Was delayed in arriving in and checked out very early to catch the tours. Got lots of help from Phil over the phone even after I called in late.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very comfortable. Just like home Very comforta

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Just like home . the owners were very helpful on the local area. Most accommodateing in every way. We would recommend this to every one.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wow!

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
So welcoming by the host, the whole experience was more than we were expecting. A hidden treasure that we will be sure to come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mount Maunganui

A Very Welcoming Host

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The proprietor and spaciousness of the unit.
Cons: Modernisation and lift access.
Location: Excellent. Restaurants and shops in close proximity.
Phil, the proprietor was a very welcoming host with a pleasant manner without being obtrusive. Great location within easy walking distance to restaurants and shops. However motel is becoming dated and bathroom fittings in need of modernisation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for a group

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
There were 5 of us (2 grandparents, 2 parents, and a two-year-old) so this 3-bedroom apartment with a fabulous view and two decks was great. Large bedroom with queen bed and big deck is at one end, with kitchen and living room separating it from two smaller bedrooms and bathroom at the other end. The kitchen is pretty well supplied and there's a dining table that seats six, which was perfect for eating meals at home. Downsides are that there is only one full bathroom with a toilet, although there is a second "bath" room with a large jetted tub and shower. There are only 8 TV channels, but you can get your own Netflix etc. on the smart TVs. The décor is a bit dated, but quite comfy. It's just off the road that goes along the beach, and it's a 5-minute walk to downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

KInd Caring Hosts

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: The hosts
Cons: Yes older motel but well maintained
Location: Very close to wharf and town centre
An older plant but well managed by kind and caring hosts . The motel is close to the township and beach