Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Great hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Cute hotel with lots of character right on the water. Close to everything, nice restaurant and bar for a drink too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent place to stay to impress visitors

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: The history displayed on the photos in the bedrooms, the ambience of the old place, but modernized bathrooms and bedding gave it charm.
Location: Plenty to do within meters of the Hotel. Walk along the Pier book a fabulous trip out to the many islands watch for dolphins & swim from the beach
Lovely ambience with very comfortable bedrooms kept in the era and style of the old hotel. Great squishy beds all air conditioned huge room with fridge and good choice of teas and cookies. patio doors opening on to a central shared deck area with carefully placed screens to ensure you could sit with a glass of wine in private. Easy smooth check in and we were shown to our rooms which was a nice touch. Breakfast next morning was continental with adequate basic selection but after the wonderful meal we had eaten in the restaurant the night previous it was all we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Plymouth

Only place to Stay in Russell

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Great location. Good clean sized rooms. Food to die for. Very convenient for passenger and car ferries.
Location: Right by beach and ferry terminal. All local atractions nearby. Two very good wineries short drive away.
Easy check in, very nice spacious room. Good sea view. Hotel right by the sea shore and ferry pier. Evening meal in the resteraunt, to die for. Lamb and Pork main dishes top shelf. Worth paying for the quality. Car ferry over, very easy to use. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

excellent location

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Food
Location: Lots of walks, hikes, shops around
Our room was small but manageable. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Perfect location, historic, charming, well-appointed, friendly staff
Cons: More flexibility in the cancellation/reservation changing would be appreciated
Location: Indian restaurant near the hotel was fantastic - definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Duke of Marlbourough Russell

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Nice older hotel in historic building. Room was smaller than expected, but what we reserved. No microwave to warm a meal. Shortest access was via a car ferry @ $25 roundtrip. Saw a kiwi crossing the road on the way back out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

lovely staff

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: walking, hiking , photography, dining
small but comfortable room. Half of the hotel ran out of hot water for a day or so, but this could happen any time to a historic hotel. The staff, attentive and pleasant, was apologetic, and compensated us for the inconvenience. The restaurant and the location on the beach were excellent!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Was very nice. Tidy and comfortable. Would recommend this facility to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Top notch

Posted Oct 4, 2016
This was a great place to come and spend my birthday. It was clean and tidy the staff amazing and the food some of the best around. Definatly recommend to anyone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whangarei

Enjoyed The Duke.

Posted Jan 31, 2016
We loved our stay, the feel and history of The Duke. Our room was decorated well and the linen lovely. The pillows were very umcomfortable unfortunately. There was a deck off our room which a very under-utilised area as it needs to be updated and beautified. Our meal at The Duke was fabulous and the atmosphere wonderful. Music was live and added to the experience. A great weekend had.