Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new you

Dirty hotel room was filthy

Posted Jan 30, 2017
The hotel room was filthy the bathroom was filthy and the person be hind the counter only would give use cleaning stuff we had to clean are own room paid almost 100.00 bucks then had to clean the room was not offered anything was told nothing I can do cleaning staff has gone home . the the guy be hind the counter said he only works there one or twice a week so I could talk to the manager in the morning got up went to talk with manager same man be hind counter again told me management is off to day i was lied to and feel I was taken for a ride I WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Staff very helpful and acommodating, room clean.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Closeness to eating, banking and shopping.
Service very good, room clean and free breakfast a plus.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

My worst experience

Posted Sep 1, 2016
This isn't a Hotel is a motel useful to drugs dealers and prostitutes. My worst experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield VA

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Our experience was terrible the room I reserved was non smoking and when we came inside on the room smells terrible and we didn't have a hot water I took a shower with a really cold water and the bathroom was nasty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

You get what you paid

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Cons: Fix the smell issue of the ACs
Location: To Fire Island Ferry: 30 min walk, 5000 steps.
The overall experience with this lodge meets the expectation. The beds were comfortable, bathroom was clean and the AC was powerful! The only issue I would say is the smoke-like smell from the AC, which filled of the entire room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

Worst motel on Long Island

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything
Do NOT ever stay at the Travelodge in Bay Shore. It is filthy, almost worst than Third World
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Does not include breakfast!!! Don't be fooled by what it says
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winchester, VA

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Location: Close to ferries for Fire Island and to Robert Moses State Park for a public beach.
Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely garden. Newly renovated rooms. Decent breakfast. Microwave and frig.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Conveniently located and little else

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Pros: It's close enough to the Ferry to Fire Island, and walking distance to a number of restaurants and shops
Cons: Can I really make a list? The place is in dire need of upgrades.
Location: Fire Island Ferries, Stop & Shop, drugstore, restaurants all walking distance
My wife and I have stayed at the Red Carpet repeatedly over the years, taking the ferry back and forth to and from Fire Island - a far more affordable experience as most hotels on the island charge $250 and up and require you to book the room for an entire weekend. There are a number of restaurants around and also a supermarket - the hotel has few amenities, such as a refrigerator, microwave, cable TV and wi-fi - even if I couldn't get it to work most of the time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not stay there again.

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Close to beach.
We found a court yard with weeds, a breakfast that was only dry cereal (we were promised bagels), and a high price due to the summer season. We asked for additional towels at the front desk. They were promised, but never delivered. Staff was courteous. A spirit of minimum pervaded the establishment.