Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canberra

Nice country hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Beautiful grounds. Spacious but terrible bed. There are three levels in the duplex so need to be agile.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Hotel was dated but pretty clean. Close to town and train station (walking distance to both).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glen Head, NY

Chateau in rural normandy

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Wonderful, quite location
Cons: A/C, washcloths, shower curtain.
Location: The invasion beaches are very close, other small towns, great restaurants, many things to do and see. This part of France is beautiful.
Beautiful setting, lacking in amenities such as washcloths, A/C (fans were provided when asked), a shower curtain or door certainly would have been a plus as the floor was very wet after each shower. Staff were very nice and accommodating and spoke English. I would stay here again. It is a very convenient location and close to the town of Bayeaux (4 minutes).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Nice setting, 15 min walk to the center of the town
4 out of 5
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Exceptional value

Posted May 30, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: See above
Cons: Show guests to their rooms.
Location: Off the city loop. Close to the train station. Visit the Cathedral and see the world famous Bayeux tapestry which relates the battle of Hastings 1066.
Great sense of arrival. Buccolic setting and charming grounds complete with white and swans and mallards.18th century building with 21st century amenities. Very comfortable and spacious rooms. Ours was located in the former stables which were converted into duplex suites. Fabulous shower, 2 TVs, free wi-fi. Friendly, helpful and unpretentious staff. Great free selfparking. Family owned property which made us yearn for times past and what life used to be in France in the 1700s. We will remember fondly our too short stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jay

An affordable chateau

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
This is a small chateau on the edge of Bayeux, which is not a big city so it is easy to get to the center and other places if you have a car. There is ample on-site parking and fairly direct routes to important sites. The place is minimally staffed, but there is always someone on duty to help. The waitress at dinner was terribly overworked and needed assistance. She did a remarkable job nonetheless. The restaurant was closed on our second night for a private party, which we were not told about so we had to go into the center of Bayeux to eat. Our room was huge with a bathroom to match. Modern bathroom fixtures, drive in shower. Everything worked and was clean. Nice breakfast in two of the large ground floor rooms. The grounds are nicely kept with a pond that is home to several white and black swans.
5 out of 5
by Charlie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pensacola, FL

Great Chateau Experience

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything!
Location: Easy to find. Convenient to major roads, but feels like out in the country.
We really enjoyed our stay. The old rooms of the chateau, but with updated bathrooms, along with the lovely entry, lobby, and eating areas made this a lovely stay! Dinner was delicious and the service was fantastic. The atmosphere of being in a chateau made it all worthwhile--including the swans in the "moat" upon our arrival--made us feel like we had taken a step back in time. We had 2 rooms, and while ours was bright and lit well, the room of our daughter was dimly lit and a little creepy for her--especially being at the end of a long hallway. :) Overall, this was a fabulous place to stay for a great price!