Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice hotel near Normandy

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Real French country chateau. Lovely grounds and quiet location.
Cons: Offer a simple menu option instead of just the up-scale restaurant
Location: Great central location to get to all the Normandy sites and close to Bayeux -- lots of restaurants and big cathedral.
This hotel is a real chateau near Bayeaux (about 2 miles away from city center). The property is well-maintained and full of French countryside charm. Our family of 4 stayed in 2 rooms in one of the buildings on the property close to the main chateau. The rooms are not air conditioned, but it was cool at night with a nice breeze. We did not eat on-property but drove into town both evenings. There is an indoor pool and 2 hot tubs that we enjoyed one morning. Just be aware that they are only open between 9AM and 6PM, so we were only able to use them by heading out late one morning. This property isn't really targeted for tourists to use as a home base for touring the Normandy region. It is suited more for couples who are going for a spa or romantic retreat in a quiet location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2017
We stayed on the 3rd floor, which was very old and crumbling. Perhaps the other rooms on the 2nd floor were more updated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Beautiful grounds.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Beautiful grounds and main Chateau. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a separate building with two rooms and a shared entryway. It was quite pretty but a little run down (dirty carpet, grunge around bathroom fixtures). The laundry facilities must have been located in the rear of this building, as both mornings we were treated to the voices and loud laughter of the staff just outside our bathroom. Bed was very firm and not comfortable. It was quite hit during our stay and the pool was unusable (water was very warm and the facility was hit like a sauna). I suspect it might have been nicer to stay in the main Chateau. No question that the grounds make you feel as though you are in a fairytale!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redwood City, CA

Lovely chateau in Normandy

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Very quiet, serene property and comfortable room. Probably not a good spot for small children.
Cons: Probably can't be improved but the deep tub is actually a bit dangerous to get in and out of and there is only a hand shower available (no shower).
Location: This hotel is very convenient to the city of Bayeux and the D-Day sites.
Enjoyed staying in this lovely chateau with a great and varied history. Also, having a 1 star Michelin restaurant was an added bonus.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portsmouth

Really lovely chateaux.

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Everything, staff especially and the food.
Cons: Nothing.
We stayed here last week for four nights. Such a beautiful hotel in a really beautiful setting. The staff were wonderful, always happy and willing to speak English as our French isn't good!! The food is out of this world and I definitely recommend having at least one evening meal in their restaurant as it's a fantastic experience. Port en bessin is just down the road as is bayeux and both are worth visiting. Our rooms were fine, beds really comfy, we didn't need for anything. Will definitely return someday. We didn't use the pool or spa so can't comment on them.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
We got a very small room, like a closet size in the attic, super cramped. For much less money, we could have rented an entire waterfront apartment via Airbnb. The hotel was not full. The restaurant at the hotel is extremely expensive 89Euro per person. A bottle of water in the mini fridge costs 10Euro. The hotel is not too far from Bayeux, about 10 minutes drive an about 20-25 minutes from D-Day Omaha beach. The pool has a super strong chlorine smelled. We used the hot tub, it worked ok. The ground is well-kept. Would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel and would recommend anyone to stay. The food was out of this world but was expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana, USA

Beautiful place

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Very nice hotel and staff. Grounds are beautiful. A bit out of town, would be a problem if you did not have a car. Breakfast is a bit pricy for what you get.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful chateau

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
Great vacation. Little difficult to get around as GPS was confused a lot due to very rural setting and roads.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
It is a beautiful spot and the town is fantastic. We really enjoyed our stay at the Chateux