Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent location

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The location, the room size and cleanliness
Cons: Full breakfast in Restaurant is a bit pricey for what is offered.
Location: Excellent
Very central location for the town and easy access to the WW2 beaches.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olathe, KS

The chef prepared social meals for me.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
I became ill the day before we arrived at the hotel. I required bland food and I am allergic to several foods. The chef created delicious dinners three nights in a row and according to his staff he didn't mind at all. The hotel also has a delicious breakfast buffet. The hotel is lovely and very clean. There is a beautiful quite place to sit outside the front of the hotel. The staff was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central, great breakfast, clean.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Not sure I would stay again. Mina, receptionist unfriendly & unhelpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Very Confortable Quaint Hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Location, Cleanliness, Restaurant on the Ground Floor, Courtyard Entrance.
Cons: No coffee maker in the room. No free coffee in the lobby either. Free WiFi service was very spotty.
Location: Location was perfect. Everything in the area worth visiting is within walking distance.
This was our second stay at the Le Lion d'Or. We spent four very lovely days at this quaint, remodeled hotel in downtown Bayeux and very much enjoyed it. The property is in a very convenient location. Restaurants, museums, shops and the beautiful downtown are within easy walking distance. Service was efficient and helpful but not necessarily friendly. But, that may be the French way. No big deal. We would definitely recommend this hotel for the convenience and quality of this property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sevenoaks, Kent, UK

Great location

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Stylish, clean room with comfortable bed, small but lovely. We were on the third floor (if you have difficulty walking be aware there is no lift) with a pretty view over the rooftops and courtyard. The staff were friendly and efficient. We had pre booked parking, with only a small parking area, I would recommend this. Although we thought the restaurant seemed expensive (poor uk exchange rate!) there were plenty of great bistros nearby. Nice bar area and courtyard. Fantastic location for exploring Bayeux town, tapestry, cathedral and cemetery. Also easy drive for D Day beaches and American cemetery. Thoroughly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Great small hotel, great location.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: see above
Location: see above
We were in Bayeaux for a visit to see the Tapestry and tour the beaches of Normandy. First of all, Bayeaux is a great location, central to all the WWII sites. Secondly, the hotel was very comfortable, clean and charming. The location was perfect (near all of the "action"), it was quiet and the rooms were small but very comfortable. We were on the top floor, which was a hike with no elevators so keep that in mind if you have difficulty navigating stairs. The hotel allowed us to park our car on premises after we checked out and during our tour. That was a much needed and appreciated convenience. We ate breakfast in the restaurant, which was just okay, but passable. I would highly recommend this as a stop on the way to the Normandy beaches and surrounding areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Friendly place to stay and cheerful staff.

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: How nice and quite it all was and no slamming doors from the bedroom doors.
Cons: See above, other wise all ok. Right in the middle of town and close to all the main features. Lots of walking also.
Location: The Cathedral, Bayeux Tapestry War graves and gardens.
Bathroom mirror needs a light over it. The 3 above leave one in the shadows and very hard to put on make up etc. Also when l wash my face and hands the water runs down my arms and on to the floor. This is because the big square basin is too high,and it would be better closer to the edge. But l did enjoy my stay.
4 out of 5
by Vincent

A nice dose of French charm

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
My wife and I spent two nights here as part of an all-day tour of the American beach areas of Normandy. Overall, we had a very pleasant and comfortable stay. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was a little tight but the room was clean, the beds were comfortable and great showers. Although the room did not have A/C, we were able to open a window to allow the cool air in. They served a nice buffet breakfast that was tasty but a bit pricey. We were a short walk from a number of restaurants, shopping and the key sightrs in town. The only thing lacking was a lift. Hauling our luggage up and down the circular stairway was a bit rugged. Overall, this was a quaint charming place and we would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by cindy

Quiet hotel in heart of city centre

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Nice and quiet with a courtyard to park a car located within walking distance to restaurants and attractions. Very kind staff with good English. The room was a bit on the small side with nowhere to open a suitcase otherwise the hotel was very nice. Breakfast was extremely basic.
5 out of 5
by Lesley

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Delightful place with fire in the fireplace on the cold, rainy night and excellent breakfasts!