Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pa

La Villa hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Veranda for breakfast and spacious rooms
Cons: The breakfast was nice and fresh but I do like eggs and sausage in the morning so they could broaden the buffet. And they let pets into the hotel.
Location: There is not anything within walking distance but you can drive to the river where all the cafes are located. Parking is hard to find in the area tho
Its a little bit hard to find but it is a nice old house that has been converted to a small hotel. Our room was spacious which is unusual in France. For two people we usually found our rooms had two beds crammed so close together it may as well have been a single bed. So we two old guys were always rearranging furniture to move the beds apart. here we didn't have to. The facilities were clean and efficient. Of course there are no wash cloths. What Europe has against wash cloths..... The thing that was special was having breakfast on their veranda. Great start to a day. The only thing that put me off was when I first got into the room and sat on my bed a bug, which I believe was a flea jumped on my arm. I squished it and told the owner and she changed the linen and I wasn't bothered again. they do allow pets in the hotel
5 out of 5
by Howard from Boynton Beach Florida

Lovely Small Hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely stay. Beautiful large room with all the amenities needed. However, it is best to stay here with some knowledge of French words as the proprietor's English is not good. Her assistant Celeste does understand, but some things do get missed. However, that said, everything is done to make the stay a comfortable one. Breakfast, either in or on the patio is also quite good. We did enjoy our stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great vslue for money.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
The greatest asset of this hotel was its free parking facility when there was not a parking space free in the town. Its value for money especially in the middle of a festival was also an important attraction.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from France

Very relaxing stay

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Friendly, helpful owner - lent us a guide book and suggested local beauty spot. Excellent breakfast. Spacious bedroom with seating area.
Cons: Divisions on the balcony for privacy between rooms. The road to the property is full of potholes, not the owners fault but it does impact on guests.
Location: Beautiful rural area and close enough to visit Bilbao
Overnight stay, so limited experience of the hotel, but we enjoyed our time once there.
5 out of 5
by Daina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

More a Villa than a Hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Nice decor, comfortable bed, large modern bathroom.
Cons: Just the quality of the wifi. It was a bit slow and patchy on occasions.
Location: Easy 20 mins walk to the centre of Bayonne. Restaurants, shops and riverfront promenades.
Lovely boutique hotel/villa in a quite part of Bayonne. Friendly and helpful staff, very nice breakfast, comfortable room and a large and modern ensuite bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with very nice staff.

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: Decor, staff
Location: Near Biarritz and better value than staying in hotel there.
Stayed 2 nights. Great little place and easy to find with satnav. Very smart and clean and decor chic. Much nicer than a branded hotel.
4 out of 5
by Geoff from Newport

Overnight to spain

Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for one night on the way to Spain. The hotel was reasonably easy to find. Parking was free as was wifi. The room was en suite and was really nice. Service was very good and the owners were very friendly. Overall, a very pleasant stay and I would recommend this hotel to others.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but a bit overpriced.

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
This is a pleasant property in a rather odd suburban location. I am not sure that it warrants its 4 stars in this day and age, I think it's closer to 3. It's more B&B than hotel, and just a bit too pricey for what you get. That said, the bed was extremely comfortable, and breakfast was excellent if a tad expensive. I was delighted that they accepted our dog, but unsure as to how her stay in her own bed warranted a 20 euro supplement. I would hope they were hoovering the room before the next guests arrived regardless. Pleasant enough but the lack of a restaurant either in the hotel or within walking distance would stop me staying again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, Illinois

Lovely rooms in a quiet place; free parking!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Nice breakfast, good coffee! Very comfortable rooms with good baths.
Cons: Once you are there, the availability of snacks and drinks are limited. Perhaps some fruit or other treats could be offered for sale.
Location: The Musee' Basque is interesting, and Grand Bayonne has chic shops; excellent food in Petite Bayonne, but they do roll up the sidewalks pretty early.
We had only a bit of trouble finding the hotel, as it is in a residential area, off the main avenues. The common areas are clean and pretty, our room at the top of the building was charming and had a view of treetops as well as the hotel garden. Easily walkable to both Petite Bayonne and Grand Bayonne; nice museums.